Stars »

iZone simulator prize for Formula Kart Stars

Hoy: “It's incredibly important for every driver to be on top of their game in every race.”
The iZone Driver Performance facility is offering a new prize for twelve drivers from Formula Kart Stars. It's called the “In the Zone” prize.

The four FKS champions spent a day in 2011 at the iZone facility at Silverstone and this year 12 drivers will go on a course at the centre. iZone was opened in 2010 by Neil Riddiford and John Pratt who was a mentor of WTCC's Andy Priaulx.

It is equipped with a simulator that replicates circuits like Whilton Mill; a fitness room; a classroom and a Batak flashing light reaction machine.

There is also the Zone room which has a massage chair, soft light sequences and a video screen where drivers can trigger memories of past races. It also offers courses in diet, hydration and kart mechanics. It is an institution to help improve the drivers' skills and help avoid parents spending too much money to find the latest equipment.

Riddiford said: ““The prize winners will receive structured development training with iZone. We identify potential areas of improvement with each driver and then use the technology that is available to raise their awareness of their own strengths and weaknesses and improve their progression.”

Championship director Carolynn Hoy added: “It's incredibly important for every driver to be on top of their game in every race and the team at iZone Driver Performance have been really successful at helping young drivers develop, including our current MSA British Champion Daniel Ticktum.”

The prize announcement comes after FKS announced scholarships to help its driver get free race entries in the MINI Challenge or the Britcar 24 Hours by the Lohen team and Formula Renault BARC or Ginetta Junior by the Hillspeed team.

by Simon Stiel

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Izone Karting simulator [Pic credit: IZone]
Sam Brabham [Pic credit: Chris Walker/]
Sam Brabham [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Josh Smith [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Josh Smith [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Formula Kart Stars flags [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Macaulay Austin [Pic credit: Steve Everitt]
Oliver Norris
Lando Norris
Lando Norris
Jessica Hawkins
Jake Dennis and Terry Fullerton
RetroRacer 2011. Larkhall. Class IV start [Pic credit: Nick Purdie]
KF3 Champion Callum Ilott with Sebastian Vettel [Pic credit: Carolynn Hoy]
Mini Max Champion Josh White and Junior Rotax Champion James Singleton with Jenson Button [Pic credit: Carolynn Hoy]
Formula Kart Stars at the 2011 Kartmania Show in Coventry [Pic credit: Chris Walker/]
Tony Kart Junior Racing Team to revert to original name, Strawberry Racing [Pic credit: Chris Walker/Kartpix]
Tony Kart Junior Racing Team to revert to original name, Strawberry Racing [Pic credit: Chris Walker/Kartpix]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group | Built by Accelerate Agency

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.