Stars »

Cadet wins for Jupp, Nelson in Wigan.

Connor Jupp and Trevyn Jay Nelson were victorious in the latest rounds of the MSA British Cadet Championship as the title race continues to bubble between Tom Harvey, Nathan Aston and Jupp.
The fight for the MSA British Cadet Championship remains finely poised between Tom Harvey and Nathan Aston following the penultimate doubleheader weekend of the Formula Kart Stars season at Three Sisters in Wigan.

Rounds nine and ten of the twelve round 2010 FKS season took place on the 1000-metre Club circuit at Three Sisters near Wigan and saw two classic finals over the weekend. With two races to go Harvey and Aston are separated by less than 20 points with Connor Jupp still in contention after another strong weekend.

Jupp won Saturday's final by two hundredths from Callum Ilott after passing Aston around the outside of turn one on the last lap. Aston completed the podium from Trevyn Jay Nelson, Jamie Caroline and Ross Gunn with Harvey only tenth after a collision with Philip Rawson.

Jupp continued to play himself into title contention with a strong second place finish in Sunday's final but the day belonged to Nelson, who sealed his first FKS victory after another titanic tussle at the front involving a dozen karts.

Behind Nelson and Jupp, Ilott scored another podium in third with American Santino Ferrucci fourth, Harvey fifth, Caroline sixth and Aston only tenth. Lando Norris, who led with three corners to go, finished seventh as the top twelve crossed the line less than 1.5-seconds apart.

In the points standings Harvey leads Aston by just eleven points when dropped scores are taken into account with Jupp now just 18 points behind Aston in third and the rest, led by Nelson, more than 50 points further back.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Cadet Tom Harvey at Genk
Sam Brabham [Pic credit: Chris Walker/]
Sam Brabham [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Josh Smith [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Josh Smith [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Formula Kart Stars flags [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Macaulay Austin [Pic credit: Steve Everitt]
Oliver Norris
Lando Norris
Lando Norris
Izone Karting simulator [Pic credit: IZone]
Jessica Hawkins
Jake Dennis and Terry Fullerton
RetroRacer 2011. Larkhall. Class IV start [Pic credit: Nick Purdie]
KF3 Champion Callum Ilott with Sebastian Vettel [Pic credit: Carolynn Hoy]
Mini Max Champion Josh White and Junior Rotax Champion James Singleton with Jenson Button [Pic credit: Carolynn Hoy]
Formula Kart Stars at the 2011 Kartmania Show in Coventry [Pic credit: Chris Walker/]
Tony Kart Junior Racing Team to revert to original name, Strawberry Racing [Pic credit: Chris Walker/Kartpix]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.