Stars »

Mini Max wins for Oram Jones, Pay at Three Sisters.

Sam Oram Jones and Lemuel Pay both earned their first Formula Kart Stars Mini Max victories on the penultimate weekend of the year at Three Sisters in Wigan.
On a weekend of mixed fortunes for the two main Formula Kart Stars Mini Max title protagonists there were two first time winners at Three Sisters in the form of Sam Oram Jones and Lemuel Pay.

As George Russell and Adam Glear suffered through their own sets of trials and tribulations at the 1000-metre Club Circuit variation of the Three Sisters venue near Wigan the Mini Max class provided two superb finals that any one of a dozen drivers could easily have won.

With Glear struggling for pace all weekend, Championship leader Russell failed to capitalise in Saturday's final after he was eliminated in a clash with Sam Marsh, which left Bobby Thompson and Ryan Norris fighting over top spot.

Norris, who started the final from 23rd and last position, tried to pass Thompson for the lead coming out of the final corner but got caught on Thompson's rear bumper which slowed them both and allowed Oram Jones to slip through on the line to take his maiden FKS win by half a kart length.

Thompson took second with Jay Goodwin third and Ethan Patterson and Zubair Hoque completing the top five. Norris eventually took tenth with Glear only twelfth.

Russell recovered well in Sunday's final but couldn't find a way past a determined Pay in the closing stages of another cracking race. Pay crossed the line with inches to spare for his debut FKS win and the first this year in Mini Max for an independently run driver.

Despite missing out on the win Russell at least padded his points lead over Glear, who finished some way back in 14th.

Norris completed the Sunday podium in third with Patterson and Oram Jones rounding out the top five.

Just two rounds remain in the 2010 season, to be held at Ellough Park in Suffolk on October 16-17.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Samuel Oram-Jones celebrates his first national class win at Wigan in round nine of the FKS MiniMax class. [Pic credit: Chris Walker -]
Sam Brabham [Pic credit: Chris Walker/]
Sam Brabham [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Josh Smith [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Josh Smith [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Formula Kart Stars flags [Pic credit: Chris Walker /]
Macaulay Austin [Pic credit: Steve Everitt]
Oliver Norris
Lando Norris
Lando Norris
Izone Karting simulator [Pic credit: IZone]
Jessica Hawkins
Jake Dennis and Terry Fullerton
RetroRacer 2011. Larkhall. Class IV start [Pic credit: Nick Purdie]
KF3 Champion Callum Ilott with Sebastian Vettel [Pic credit: Carolynn Hoy]
Mini Max Champion Josh White and Junior Rotax Champion James Singleton with Jenson Button [Pic credit: Carolynn Hoy]
Formula Kart Stars at the 2011 Kartmania Show in Coventry [Pic credit: Chris Walker/]
Tony Kart Junior Racing Team to revert to original name, Strawberry Racing [Pic credit: Chris Walker/Kartpix]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.