Crash.Net Le Mans News

ACO confirms first 16 for Le Mans 2013

17 November 2012

The ACO has confirmed the first 16 entries that have been offered for the 2013 running of the Le Mans 24 Hours.

The invitations have been handed out based on the result of this seasons Le Mans 24 Hours, World Endurance Championship, American Le Mans Series and European Le Mans Series – with the 16 cars representing 13 different teams.

In order to take up their entry, the invited teams must also lodge an entry into the WEC, ALMS, ELMS or the new Asian Le Mans Series.

Notably, there were no automatic entries handed out to teams based on the results of the American Le Mans Series, with the championship instead putting forwards teams for a place in the field.

Elsewhere, JMB Racing and Boutsen Ginion Racing earn an entry despite competing in just one round of the shortened European Le Mans Series season.

The full list of automatic entries is as follows:

Audi Sport Team Joest Winner LMP1 Le Mans 24 Hrs
Audi Sport Team Joest Winner Michelin Green X Challenge WEC

Starworks Motorpsort Winner LMP2 Le Mans 24 Hrs
Thiriet by TDS Racing Winner LMP2 ELMS
OAK Racing Second LMP2 ELMS
Boutsen Ginion Racing Winner LMPC ELMS
Conquest Racing Designated by ALMS
Level 5 Motorsports Designated by ALMS

AF Corse Winner GTE-Pro Le Mans 24 Hrs
JMW Motorsport Winner GTE-Pro ELMS
JMB Racing Second GTE-Pro ELMS

Larbre Competition Winner GTE-Am Le Mans 24 Hrs
IMSA Performance MATMUT Winner GTE-Am ELMS
AF Corse Second GTE-Am ELMS

GTE – Pro or Am TBC:
Extreme Speed Motorsport Designated by ALMS
AF Corse Winner Michelin Green X Challenge WEC