James Stewart won his eleventh Monster Energy AMA Supercross, a FIM World Championship, race at Rice-Eccles Stadium on Saturday - handing the Yamaha rider a six point lead over Chad Reed heading into next weekend's Las Vegas season finale.

Reigning champion Reed got the main event with the holeshot with Honda Red Bull Racing's Davi Millsaps and former champion Stewart following in second and third respectively. Stewart passed Millsaps one turn later and secured second place.

On lap four, Stewart passed Reed, but Reed bounced back and regained the lead. The same scenario would unfold on lap eight, but it was on lap 12 that Stewart made the pass and rode off to victory. Millsaps finished third.

"I got the holeshot and started the race out great," said Reed. "There are little things here and there that I need to work on, but it was a good race. We head to Las Vegas next weekend for the last race of the season, and I am looking forward to it."

"That was a fun race for me," said Stewart. "We passed one another several times and it was fun. Chad was on it tonight, and I almost crashed a few times. We have one more race next weekend in Las Vegas."

Meanwhile, Rockstar/Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey claimed the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class title in a main event won by Honda's Trey Canard.

Suzuki rider Dungey got the holeshot followed in second place by Honda's Jake Moss and his team-mate Chris Blose in third. In the early stages of the opening lap Moss moved into the lead, but on lap seven Moss crashed and handed the lead over to Dungey.

Canard worked his way through the pack and passed Dungey for the lead on lap seven. Monster Energy/ Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Jake Weimer moved around Dungey for second place on lap 13 and began his chase on Canard.

Weimer pushed Canard for the next two laps but it wasn't enough. Canard, the defending Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites class champion, held on for the win.

"This win tonight is great for me," said Canard. "I have had a rough season and to end it like this is all worth it."

En route to winning the first AMA Supercross Lites class championship, Dungey earned four wins and three additional podium finishes.

"I want to thank my family and team for being there for me," said Dungey on the championship. "I lost the battle but won the war tonight. There are so many people that helped me get to this point in my career and I want to thank them."
AMA Supercross Class Results, Salt Lake City:
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha
2. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Suzuki
3. Davi Millsaps, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda
4. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash. Kawasaki
5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
6. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha
7. Matt Boni, Geneva, Fla., Honda
8. Thomas Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Kawasaki
9. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda
10. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Kawasaki
AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha, 357
2. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Suzuki, 351
3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 257
4. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 223
5. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 218
6. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 210
7. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 208
8. Davi Millsaps, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 208
9. Mike Alessi, Apple Valley, Calif., Suzuki, 203
10. Josh Hill, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 146
Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Salt Lake City
1. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda
2. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki
3. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
4. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
5. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
6. Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Honda
7. Jake Moss, Temecula, Calif., Honda
8. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Kawasaki
9. Michael Hall, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
10. Ben Evans, Boise, Idaho, Honda
Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 178
2. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 173
3. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 166
4. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 119
5. Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Honda, 110
6. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 99
7. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., KTM, 89
8. Jeff Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Honda, 70
9. Dan Reardon, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 67
10. P.J. Larsen, Stanley, N.C., Kawasaki, 62


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment