Philippaerts wins British GP qualifying race.

Reigning MX1 world champion David Philippaerts won the qualifying race for Sunday's British Motocross Grand Prix at Mallory Park - ahead of Mickael Pichon!

Former double 250cc world champion Pichon, who last raced in an MX1 GP in 2006, has come out of retirement to replace the injured Kevin Strijbos and Marc de Reuver at Martin Honda.

The 33-year-old Frenchman finished 4.6sec behind Philippaerts' Monster Yamaha at the end of the 20-minute race, but faces a tough physical test to replicate his amazing comeback performance in Sunday's two 40-minute motos.

Third placed Josh Coppins was 15secs behind team-mate Philippaerts, with fourth placed Max Nagl (KTM) 20sec from the top and fifth placed Gregory Aranda (Kawasaki) 36sec behind.

The spread-out times were partly due to a first corner pile-up involving world championship leader Antonio Cairoli.

The Yamaha Red Bull De Carli racer collided with Billy Mackenzie and pulled off the heat in pain. The Italian suffered bruising to his left wrist and back, but is due to race tomorrow.

Suzuki's Ken de Dycker also fell in the incident but remounted to finish 15th.

In the MX2 class, world championship leader Marvin Musquin - who has switched from NGS Honda to Red Bull KTM - made an instant impact on his orange debut by winning the qualifying race by five seconds from Davide Guarneri (Yamaha) and Steven Frossard (Kawasaki).

Tomorrow's weather forecast is looking promising with perfect conditions predicted for round seven of the 15-round World Motocross Championship races.

British Grand Prix MX1 Qualifying Race Results:
1. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 25:19.118
2. Mickael Pichon (FRA, Honda), +0:04.606
3. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:15.130
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:20.387
5. Gregory Aranda (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:36.897
6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:37.732
7. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), +0:40.611
8. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:43.382
9. Kristian Whatley (GBR, CCM), +0:45.533
10. Carl Nunn (GBR, Suzuki), +0:46.722

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
David Philippaerts - Yamaha.
Cairoli will not ride at the MXoN
Tony Cairoli British GP 2015
The Go Pro image as Cairoli loses the front wheel in the qualifying race
Antonio Cairoli celebrate 2009 MX1 title victory
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha
Mickael Pichon - Honda.
The Mallory Park British Motocross Grand Prix track
Brad Anderson at Mallory Park.
Antonio Cairoli (Yamaha).
Billy Mackenzie checks out British GP progress.
Barragan, Cairoli and Leok on the Valkenswaard podium
Cairoli and Philippaerts.
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Tony Cairoli and David Philippaerts.
Team USA wins the 2008 Motocross of Nations at Donington Park.
The 2008 Motocross of Nations circuit at Donington park.
Tommy Searle tries the Donington Park Motocross of Nations track.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.