Teka Suzuki names 2010 line-up.

New Belgian champion and the emerging star from the 2009 MX1 Motocross World Championship, Clement Desalle, will join Steve Ramon in the Teka Suzuki World MX1 team for the 2010 campaign.

The 20-year-old will become a factory rider with the RM-Z450 for the first time in his career and will work alongside Ramon who enters his fifth season with the Belgian team next year.

Desalle, who made his grand prix debut in 2006, was the surprise of the 2009 MX1 season, which saw him claim third in the classification, as the top Honda rider.

Desalle also won two of the final three grands prix of the season, in the Czech Republic and Brazil, and with a haul of seven podiums in total, was the second most prolific rider on the rostrum after world champion Antonio Cairoli.

The Belgian will again wear 'yellow' after being a Suzuki representative for his first three years of world championship participation.

"This will be the first time for me as a factory rider but I do not want to change my approach or philosophy, I will do my best and work very hard. I am looking forward to this 'step up' for my career," he commented.

"I wanted to improve my performance in the World Championship year after year and now I am reaching the top. It was not a difficult decision to join a team like this to reach the next level and I hope we can do good things together in 2010," added Desalle.

Desalle will replace Ken de Dycker, who will ride at Yamaha next season, while former MX2 and MX1 world champion Steve Ramon retains his RMZ ride.

Prior to this season - and his unfortunate neck fracture at round four that caused him to miss half of the calendar - Ramon had finished in the top-three of the MX1 standings in each of his three years with Teka Suzuk.

The title was gained in 2007 and he was runner-up in 2008. The 29-year-old Belgian's impressive consistency means that he will be regarded as a championship-threat again in 2010.

"I am happy to do another year with the team," he said. "They are professional and I know the whole set-up so it is a very practical and beneficial situation for me. I have a good feeling with the bike and with a little bit of testing over the winter I know that we will be ready to go for the title again in 2010."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Clement Desalle - Honda
Simpson joins Sterry at Wilvo KTM
A practice crash spelt the end to Desalle`s season
Jeffrey Herlings shares the podium with Max Anstie and Steve Lenoir
Ryan Dungey - Suzuki
Mark De Reuver and Steve Ramon (pic: Paul Harris)
Mark De Reuver and Steve Ramon (pic: Paul Harris)
Tanel Leok leads Mark De Reuver, Max Nagl, Steve Ramon and Evgeny Bobryshev (pic: Paul Harris)
Ryan Dungey – Suzuki (pic: Suzuki).
Ken de Dycker – Suzuki
Mike Alessi - Suzuki (pic: Suzuki)
Chad Reed - Suzuki.
Steve Ramon - Suzuki.
Ken de Dycker - Suzuki.
Chad Reed - Suzuki (pic: Suzuki).
Chad Reed - Suzuki (pic: Suzuki).
Chad Reed - Makita Rockstar Suzuki (pic: Suzuki).
Chad Reed - Makita Rockstar Suzuki (pic: Suzuki).

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.