Frenchman Romain Febvre extended his lead in the MXGP championship with a double win, but it was disaster for MX2 leader Jeffrey Herlings who crashed hard and gashed his left hand right down to the bone.

In his return to racing after breaking his collarbone two weeks ago and having it plated, Herlings surprised everyone with a win in the first moto. But he fell in spectacular style in the first corner of the second moto and retired immediately, seeking medical attention to his badly gashed finger. It's not know if he will require surgery or miss next week's race in Latvia.

Honda's Tim Gajser won the MX2 overall thanks to runner-up spot behind Herlings first time out, and a victory in moto two. Gajser now matches Herlings in overall grand prix victories this season but still trails him by 78 points.

Related Articles

Despite having two bad starts, Yamaha's Valentin Guillod had two impressive rides for second overall. "Herlings went down in front of me and I hit him and bent my gear shifter so I had to ride changing gears with my heel. On the first few laps I had to learn to use it like that so it took me some time to figure out how to do it," Guillod said after race two. He took third and fourth spots for second overall.

Suzuki's Jeremy Seewer took second place in race, his best ever ride. And he ended up third overall, narrowly beating much-improved Russian Honda rider Vsevolod Brylyakov. Brits Max Anstie took 7th overall and Ben Watson 12th.

In the MXGP class, it was Febvre who took his first ever double win. "I am riding the dream and I hope I don't wake up until the end of the season," he said after tightened his grip on the championship with a 39-point lead over Tony Cairoli who took over as runner-up in the series thanks to the absence of injured Max Nagl.

World champ Cairoli is still dealing with an arm injury that is preventing him from riding at full speed but took an impressive third in the final moto.

But it was disaster for his team-mate Tommy Searle who made his return to MXGP this weekend but had a crash while running inside the top ten that has left him with an injured elbow.

While KTM licked their wounds, Yamaha celebrated as Jeremy Van Horebeek has a second and a fifth, putting him on the podium for the first time since the Czech GP almost a year ago.

After starting from the back of the pack in race one, Suzuki's Kevin Strijbos was forced to carve his way through and get some decent points on the board. Eighth was the best he could do but he bounced back strong in race two when he went bar-to-bar with Febvre around turn one and emerged in the lead. Strijbos led most of the race but eventually let Febvre by. The Belgian finished second for his third consecutive podium finish since his return from injury.

Shaun Simpson looked on for a podium overall after finishing third in the opener, but he almost crashed in turn one of the second race and had to fight through traffic. He ended up 10th for sixth overall. Nathan Watson made his return to GPs and was 12th overall, while Brit Jake Nicholls had bad luck which saw him no-score in race one when his bike stopped. But he took 15th in moto two.

Simpson took a third place finish
Simpson took a third place finish
MX2 Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:10.178; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:07.770; 3. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:14.010; 4. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:21.869; 5. Vsevolod Brylyakov (RUS, Honda), +0:23.943; 6. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Yamaha), +0:25.324; 7. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:26.261; 8. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:52.897; 9. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), +0:57.424; 10. Jorge Zaragoza (ESP, Honda), +1:03.012

MX2 Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:10.850; 2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:02.097; 3. Jordi Tixier (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:02.758; 4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:18.776; 5. Vsevolod Brylyakov (RUS, Honda), +0:19.725; 6. Julien Lieber (BEL, Yamaha), +0:22.466; 7. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:38.816; 8. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:40.653; 9. Roberts Justs (LAT, KTM), +0:48.374; 10. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:49.537

MX2 Overall Top Ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 47 points; 2. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 38 p.; 3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 36 p.; 4. Vsevolod Brylyakov (RUS, HON), 32 p.; 5. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 26 p.; 6. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 25 p.; 7. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 25 p.; 8. Roberts Justs (LAT, KTM), 22 p.; 9. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 20 p.; 10. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 20 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 423 points; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 345 p.; 3. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 335 p.; 4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 311 p.; 5. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 307 p.; 6. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 306 p.; 7. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 262 p.; 8. Julien Lieber (BEL, YAM), 259 p.; 9. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, HUS), 256 p.; 10. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 205 p

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 34:28.955; 2. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:14.107; 3. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:18.097; 4. Todd Waters (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:18.528; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:20.159; 6. Dean Ferris (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:25.268; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:31.278; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:32.398; 9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:35.198; 10. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Honda), +0:43.540

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 35:12.538; 2. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:01.295; 3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:31.708; 4. Dean Ferris (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:33.610; 5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:40.109; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:42.819; 7. Todd Waters (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:45.235; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:48.698; 9. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +1:01.555; 10. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +1:01.775

MXGP Overall Top Ten: 1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 50 points; 2. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 38 p.; 3. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 35 p.; 4. Dean Ferris (AUS, HUS), 33 p.; 5. Todd Waters (AUS, HUS), 32 p.; 6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 30 p.; 7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 28 p.; 8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 27 p.; 9. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 27 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, YAM), 26 p

MXGP Championship Top Ten: 1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 419 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 380 p.; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 360 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 351 p.; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 319 p.; 6. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 291 p.; 7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 257 p.; 8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 232 p.; 9. Todd Waters (AUS, HUS), 224 p.; 10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 196 p.