Briton Max Anstie won today's MX2 qualifying race and set a blistering lap time a full second faster than runner-up Tom Gajser at the Kegums track in Latvia.

And in the MXGP, it was more British celebrations as Tommy Searle led most of the race before being demoted by winner Gautier Paulin, series leader Romain Febvre and Evgeny Bobryshev.

But it was the MX2 class where Anstie was totally dominant, taking the holeshot and winning by seven seconds from Gajser and Pauls Jonass while Valentin Guillod was fourth from Jeremy Seewer and Brian Bogers.

Related Articles

World champ Jordi Tixier went down on lap one and struggled with a bent bike to take 20th.
With Jeffrey Herlings absent due to his hand injury last week in Sweden, the MX2 class also saw Brit Ben Watson take a strong tenth. The KTM man is showing pace good enough for an even better finish.

It was KTM power that led the MXGP class off as Searle, still nursing a small fracture and nasty gash to his arm form last week's Swedish GP, took the holeshot from Husky's Todd Waters and world champ Tony Cairoli.

Cairoli, who was only 22nd in timed qualifying and so is obviously still struggling with his recently broken arm, nudged Waters out of the way but in the following turn buried the front end and went down. After another crash later in the race, he ended 18th. Waters himself then fell as Paulin and Febvre steamed by, eventually catching Serle and slipping through.
Paulin and Febvre fought hard but the Honda men held it at the flag. Bobby eventually got around Searle.

Shaun Simpson took ninth while Nathan Watson a creditable 12th. Steven Frossard, who recently split with the Wilvo KTM team, made his debut on the factory Kawasaki he'll ride until the end for the season but was 15th.

His former KTM team-mate Jake Nicholls hurt his back in and retired from the race, preferring to save himself for tomorrow's actual GPs.

MX2 Qualifying Race Top Ten: 1. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), 25:08.559; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:07.435; 3. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:18.068; 4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:21.383; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:30.081; 6. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:31.857; 7. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:49.053; 8. Davy Pootjes (NED, KTM), +0:51.361; 9. Julien Lieber (BEL, Yamaha), +0:54.881; 10. Ben Watson (GBR, KTM), +0:56.436
MXGP Qualifying Race Top Ten: 1. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), 24:54.038; 2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:00.359; 3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:26.663; 4. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), +0:27.892; 5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:28.298; 6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:30.087; 7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:31.388; 8. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:38.978; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:40.011; 10. Filip Bengtsson (SWE, Honda), +0:46.458