Valentin Guillod and Tim Gajser are now tied on points in the MX2 world championship after the Swiss Yamaha rider took the overall win at the Czech GP at Loket. Guillod remounted from a fall to take second behind Max Anstie in the first leg, after battling past Jordi Tixier on the last lap as Gajser crashed and failed to finish with a damaged Honda.

Second time out Guillod stalker leader Gajser to take the win and the overall. Both men are now on 399 points, 24 behind Jefrey Herlings who is not riding the rest of the year after dislocating his hip on Saturday.

Guillod, who took his third overall GP win of the season, said: "I've been getting bad starts all year and I need to work on it! At the beginning it was very slippery in both races but the track started to dry and I felt better and better. I waited until I knew I could pass to take the lead."

Related Articles

It was joy then disaster for Briton Anstie who threw away a possible double win when he ejected off his Kawasaki while leading race two. Anstie took a clear win in the opener and said: "That was nice! The track's hard but I executed the plan and I need to find a few better lines. I couldn't have asked for more." Anstie passed Gajser after he made a mistake in moto two and was leading when he crashed hard. He walked away.

Second overall was KTM factory rider Pauls Jonass, who is only 10 points behind Guillod and Gajser in the title hunt. Jonass said: "It's my fourth podium of the season which is just awesome. It was a tough race and I didn't expect to do well here on hard pack tracks. But Stefan Everts helped me so much."

Defending world champ Tixier took third overall, his first podium since the French GP in June. Frenchman Tixier, the man who crashed into stricken Herlings in qualifying, said: "I'm really sorry about my crash with Jeffrey. I had to go to hospital to get stitches in my arm afterwards. But today I made so many mistakes."

Results. Overall: 1 V Guillod 47, 2 P Jonass 38, 3 J Tixier 36, 4 B Paturel 34, 5 P Petrov 30, 6 J Lieber 27, 7 M Anstie 25. 19 A Sterry 7, 20 B Watson 6.

Championship points; 1 J Herlings 423, 2 T Gajser and V Guillod 399, 4 P Jonass 389, 5 J Tixier 370.