Belgian MXoN team announced

The latest country to announce it's three-man squad for the Motocross of Nations in Ernee is Belgium, with veteran Kevin Strijbos again teamed up with Jeremy Van Horebeek and Julian Lieber, the same squad that took second place in Latvia to the victorious French team of Gautier Paulin, Dylan Ferrandis and Steven Frossard.

While the team is still one of the strongest in the competition, Van Horebeek has had nothing like the speed he had last season where he finished second to Tony Cairoli. Van Horebeek currently sits eighth in the world championship with Strijbos two places back in tenth but the Yamaha rider has missed four races and the Suzuki pilot ten this year, so their places are perhaps better than they appear. Strijbos tok the victory at the weekend in the Sylvain Geboers Trophy in Mol, Belgium.

MX2 rider Lieber is also eighth in the championship and will hope to have a stronger 'Nations showing than last year when his scores were the poorest in the squad, with Strijbos winning one race and Van Horebeek going 2 - 4 in his for the strongest score in the team.

The year before in 2013, Van Horebeek had been the third member of the winning Belgian team with Clement Desalle and Ken DeDycker at Teutschenthal, and the same squad had taken second at Lommel the year before. Teams from Belgium are the third most successful in the competition's history behind the USA and Great Britain, winning an impressive fifteen times and hitting the podium with astonishing regularity - fourteen times in the last fifteen years. If you are going to place an each-way bet, Belgian represents a pretty low risk, and a win is always a possibility.

Tagged as: Van Horebeek

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Can Yamaha`s Van Horebeek hit the box in France
Van Horebeek gets the call up for another year with Yamaha
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Marc Coma - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Marc Coma - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Marc Coma - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Toine van Dijk on his way to Veterans World Cup victory in Spain.
Robbie Maddison prepares for his record breaking Vegas jump (pic: Rich Van Every_Red Bull).
Robbie Maddison (pic: Rich Van Every_Red Bull).
Freestyle star Robbie Maddison during a massive jump (pic: Rich Van Every_Red Bull).
Remy van Rees on his KTM (Pic:
Remy van Rees gets some air time in Lierop (Pic :

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.