Kawasaki's Josh Grant took victory in the MXGP qualifying race by 5.9s from 450 rookie Cooper Webb in an American one-two at a scorching Glen Helen circuit while Shane McElrath won MX2.

Newly-crowned world MXGP champ Romain Febvre caught and then passed former world champ Tony Cairoli - having his first ride back since breaking his arm - for third place. Husky's Jason Anderson also got past the KTM rider to take his fourth place away.

Dean Wilson took 14th and Tommy Searle 21st after crashing, while Adam Sterry failed to finish after landing hard over a jump.

Related Articles

In the MX2 class KTM's Shane McElrath in pole position after winning the MX2 qualifying heat by 8s from Yamaha's Valentin Guillod and red plate holder Tim Gajser.

Gajser was passed early on by title rival Pauls Jonass who set off in a bid to catch McElrath. But the factory KTM rider dropped back and failed to finish due to a bike problem. Max Anstie also failed to finish after holding a top seven place early on in the moto. Check out the video highlights here!