Three British places in new YZ125 Cup

All-new International Yamaha Cup is open to just the top three YZ125 riders in the British Youth Nationals
Three British riders will get the chance to race in the new YZ125 Cup which will see one lucky winner rewarded with an official Yamaha ride in the EMX125 championship in 2017. To make it through to the Cup, the best-scoring riders from 13 national championship will race in a Superfinal at the Veltins Arena in Germany on October 8. Three riders will go through from the British Youth Nationals which is the official qualifying series in the UK, making a total of 42 riders in all.

The six top riders of the Superfinal at the Veltins Arena event, joined by two wildcards, will win a masterclass with former world champion David Philippaerts. One of the lucky eight will be selected for the official Yamaha ride in the  EMX125 series in 2017. It's a unique prize.

Yamaha's Karl Radley said: “We are really pleased to have this new platform for the development of youth racers, as it's really important to provide opportunities to emerging UK talent and give them the chance to prove themselves against Europe's best riders. It also shows that Yamaha is still committed to two-stroke technology and the benefits they can have on the development of a riders skills in competition.”

Gareth Hockey, promoter of the Thor British Youth Nationals, said: "This is brilliant news to see one of the iconic Japanese manufacturers back supporting youth two-stroke racing. We are passionate about youth racing and the importance of two-strokes within our championship.”
If you're born between 2000 and 2004 and you are competing in the British Youth Nationals 125cc championship on a Yamaha YZ125, you must register for the Cup by January 31 at

Tagged as: yz125 cup

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
yz125 cup
Toine van Dijk on his way to Veterans World Cup victory in Spain.
Katherine Prumm won the 2007 Womens` World Cup ahead of Livia Lancelot and Maria Franke.
Riders’ briefing for the FIM Womens` Motocross World Cup participants
2006 Womens` World Cup top three: Stephanie Laier, Katherine Prumm and Livia Lancelot.
The 2006 Women`s World Cup podium in Sweden (round two of two): Stephanie Laier in third, Elin Mann in second and Katherine Prumm in first.
Katherine Prumm – 2006 Women`s World Cup champion.
Paul Malin`s 1997 Yamaha YZ 125 bike which was stolen from a display at the head office of Bike-It International.
Livia Lancelot (Yamaha #3) leads Katherine Prumm (Kawasaki #2) through the lappers at the first round of the 2006 Women`s World Cup, in Germany.
Katherine Prumm (1st), Livia Lancelot (2nd) and Stephanie Laier (3rd) on the Women`s World Cup podium at the Grand Prix of Germany.
The podium at the first ever FIM Womens` World Cup: Stephanie Laier (1st), Katherine Prumm (2nd) and Livia Lancelot (3rd).
Joel Smets tops the heat three podium at the 2003 Qatar MX Cup.
Joel Smets dominated the first day of the Qatar MX Cup.
Marco Dube at the World Cup of Motocross.
Paul Cooper during the World Cup of Motocross at Glen Helen raceway.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.