Coppins wins Valence international.

New factory Yamaha star Josh Coppins further justified his favourite tag for the 2007 MX1 season by taking his second victory of the pre-season at the Valence international, just a week after winning at Montevarchi.

However, the Kiwi faced stiff competition from KTM's new 450cc rider David Philippaerts and the pair were actually tied on points after the three races - Coppins getting the nod due to his race three win.

But it was another KTM rider, Max Nagl - the winner at Mantova - who took the heat one win, ahead of Billy Mackenzie and Coppins, before Philippaerts took race two and Coppins race three. Josh was the most consistent of the heat winners and was rewarded for his last race pass on Philippaerts with the overall.

In the MX2 class KTM's Tyla Rattray was on another planet and dominated his 250cc rivals. Anthony Boissière and Steven Frossard, who listened carefully to the advice of their new coach, former world champion Mickael Maschio, were best of the rest.

Not enjoying such a good day was Tanel Leok, who hurt his arm in the second race and finished 24th overall, while Jonathan Barragan injured his foot with a stone. Frenchman Yves Demaria crashed on Saturday and finally didn't race.

Results – Valence:

1.Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 3/3/1
2.Philippaerts (ITA, KTM), 4/1/2
3.Nagl (RFA, KTM), 1/5/4)
4.Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 6/2/3)
5.Rattray (AFS, KTM), 11/6/5
6.Mackenzie (GBR, Kawasaki), 2/0/10
7.Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 10/14/8
8.Bill (CH, Kawasaki), 0/7/6
9.Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), 7/0/7
10.Renet (FRA, Honda), 13/4/0
11.Boissière (FRA, Kawasaki), 14/8/16
12.Vanni (FRA, Honda), 9/0/9
13.Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 0/10/11
14.Allier (FRA, Kawasaki), 12/9/0)
15.De Reuver (PB, Yamaha), 8/15/0

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Josh Coppins on his way to victory in the Valence pre-season international.
Josh Coppins on his way to victory in the Valence pre-season international.
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)
Team USA takes 20th Motocross of Nations win.
Josh Coppins - Yamaha.
Tanel Leok wins a muddy Faenza MX1 season opener.
Josh Grant wins Anaheim I 2009 (Pic: Yamaha).
Team USA wins the 2008 Motocross of Nations at Donington Park.
Tyla Rattray wins the 2008 MX2 World Championship.
Josh Coppins - Yamaha.
Josh Coppins celebrates 2008 MX1 victory (Pic: CDS).
Chad Reed wins the 2008 AMA Supercross championship.
Josh Coppins – Yamaha (pic: Yamaha)
Josh Coppins – Yamaha (pic: Yamaha)
Grant Langston celebrates winning the 2007 AMA Motocross championship.
Ramon wins 2007 MX1 Motocross world championship.
Ramon wins 2007 MX1 Motocross world championship.
Ramon wins 2007 MX1 Motocross world championship.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.