Grand Prix of Czech Republic - Preview.

This weekend's Czech Republic Grand Prix in Loket marks the last event before an exciting three races in three weeks - starting in Dublin (Ireland) and ending in Faenza (Italy) after visiting Lierop (The Netherlands) – concludes the 2008 MX1 and MX2 season.

Reigning MX1 world champion Steve Ramon will start this weekend's event just two points clear of long time title leader David Philippaerts, who suffered in the deep Lommel sand last time out, but should be strong on the hand packed Loket terrain.

Third in the championship Josh Coppins saw his 2007 title hopes end with injury at Loket one year ago, the effects of which drained his 107 point lead. The Kiwi will be looking to make amends in 2008 while KTM factory riders Max Nagl and Jonathan Barragan will be looking to continue their excellent form - the latter having won the latest three GPs, with Nagl on the podium at each of those events.

Barragan is fifth in the standings behind Ramon's Teka Suzuki WMX1's Ken de Dycker, who was second overall at Lommel, as Nagl is seventh behind GPKR's Sebastien Pourcel.

After his latest pole in Mallory Park and his latest podium appearance in France Pourcel seems to have had a difficult time but will find further support in his team mate Kevin Strijbos' comeback this weekend at Loket. The Belgian has not raced a GP since his hand injury at Bellpuig's, but won both motos last year in Loket, the venue of his maiden GP win (2005, MX1, Suzuki).

Meanwhile, Martin Honda's Marc de Reuver lost the overall win in Lommel due to a final moto crash and he will be looking for better fortunes in Czech Republic.

In the MX2 class Tyla Rattray still leads with a 20 point cushion from KTM team-team team-mate Tommy Searle.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
MX1 race start.
Tim Gasjer`s crash have put him level to Valentin Guillod on points
Romain Febvre Loket 2015
Loket MX2 GP start
Mark De Reuver and Steve Ramon (pic: Paul Harris)
Mark De Reuver and Steve Ramon (pic: Paul Harris)
Tanel Leok leads Mark De Reuver, Max Nagl, Steve Ramon and Evgeny Bobryshev (pic: Paul Harris)
Steve Ramon - Suzuki.
Jonathan Barragan and Steve Ramon.
Steve Ramon survives the rain in Spain for his first MX1 victory.
Steve Ramon – Suzuki.
Josh Coppins – Yamaha (pic: Yamaha)
USA (1st), France (2nd) and Belgium (3rd) on the 2007 Motocross of Nations podium.
Ramon wins 2007 MX1 Motocross world championship.
Ramon wins 2007 MX1 Motocross world championship.
Ramon wins 2007 MX1 Motocross world championship.
Kevin Strijbos won the GP, Marc De Reuver clinched his maiden MX1 podium in second place, and Steve Ramon grasped the 2007 world title with third
Steve Ramon – Suzuki.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.