Kawasaki's Tanel Leok took an overdue first MX1 GP victory from Suzuki team-mates Ken de Dycker and Steve Ramon, during Sunday's Grand Prix of Ireland, held in dry conditions at a soft Fairyhouse circuit.

Leok was second to de Dycker in race one, but then claimed the overall with victory in race two - when Ramon finished second and de Dycker third.

Reigning title holder Ramon had been a frustrated fifth in moto one after a late pass by title rival David Philippaerts, but switched back to some more mellow engine settings for the second outing and - with Philippaerts fourth in both motos - was able to regain the ground lost in race one.

Related Articles

Ramon will now head into the final two rounds of the season just five points behind the Monster Yamaha rider, whose team-mate Josh Coppins saw his title hopes effectively end after tangling with other riders in both races, resulting in a ninth in moto one and DNF in moto two.

The Kiwi has now lost third in the championship to de Dycker and KTM's Jonathan Barragan as a result.

In the MX2 class, championship leader Tyla Rattray took the overall victory ahead of KTM team-mate Tommy Searle and Steven Frossard, but only after shock first-heat winner Zach Osborne suffered a mechanical failure in the second moto.

Rattray was second to Osborne in moto one, then took victory in moto two as Searle struggled to limit the damage after qualifying just 25th. Searle finished fourth and second, costing him seven more points to Rattray, who is now 27 points clear at the top of the standings.