Leok wins Irish GP, title chase tightens.

Kawasaki's Tanel Leok took an overdue first MX1 GP victory from Suzuki team-mates Ken de Dycker and Steve Ramon, during Sunday's Grand Prix of Ireland, held in dry conditions at a soft Fairyhouse circuit.

Leok was second to de Dycker in race one, but then claimed the overall with victory in race two - when Ramon finished second and de Dycker third.

Reigning title holder Ramon had been a frustrated fifth in moto one after a late pass by title rival David Philippaerts, but switched back to some more mellow engine settings for the second outing and - with Philippaerts fourth in both motos - was able to regain the ground lost in race one.

Ramon will now head into the final two rounds of the season just five points behind the Monster Yamaha rider, whose team-mate Josh Coppins saw his title hopes effectively end after tangling with other riders in both races, resulting in a ninth in moto one and DNF in moto two.

The Kiwi has now lost third in the championship to de Dycker and KTM's Jonathan Barragan as a result.

In the MX2 class, championship leader Tyla Rattray took the overall victory ahead of KTM team-mate Tommy Searle and Steven Frossard, but only after shock first-heat winner Zach Osborne suffered a mechanical failure in the second moto.

Rattray was second to Osborne in moto one, then took victory in moto two as Searle struggled to limit the damage after qualifying just 25th. Searle finished fourth and second, costing him seven more points to Rattray, who is now 27 points clear at the top of the standings.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tanel Leok - Kawasaki.
A GP win in LOmmel was a fantastic result for Simpson
Loket MX2 GP start
Tony Cairoli British GP 2015
Petar Petrov signs Kawasaki in MX2 GP
Latvia motocross GP 2015 MX2 start
Max Anstie wins Latvia GP MX2 qualifying race
MX GP start Valkenswaard
The MX2 pack blast off the line in the Swedish GP at Uddevalla
MX2 race start at the Swedish GP
Husqvarna`s GP squad has taken another blow as Tonkov is ruled out for the season
Ryan Villopoto as his last GP race in Arco di Trento, Italy
The MX2 race blasts off at the German GP
Romain FGebvre powers through the mud on the way to another GP win
Tanel Leok (pic: Paul Harris)
Tanel Leok leads Mark De Reuver, Max Nagl, Steve Ramon and Evgeny Bobryshev (pic: Paul Harris)
Ken Roczen won his first ever GP at his fifth MX2 appearance.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.