Ramon snatches Belgian crown from de Dycker.

Steve Ramon may have lost his MX1 world title to David Philippaerts, but the Teka Suzuki rider was at least able to defend his Belgian Championship crown.

By finishing the final round at Pierreux second overall with a 3-2-4 scorecard, Ramon clinched his third consecutive national title from under the nose of team-mate Ken de Dycker - who suffered a technical problem in the final moto of the series and slipped from first to third in the standings.

Ramon was delighted to take the title after suffering some bad luck of his own in earlier rounds.

"I always kept the faith so it's nice to be rewarded in the end," he said. "Of course I feel for the way Ken lost the title but I didn't steal it either you know! I had my share of bad luck in Nismes and Balen...

"I hadn't been riding this week and that combined with the demanding track that was hard pack in some places and soft and sandy in others meant that I got some arm pump in the first heat. Luckily things improved after that - I had some good lines and my riding was going good."

de Dycker was understandably disappointed but will use his misfortune as motivation for this weekend's coming Motocross of Nations.

"It sucks to lose out on the title like this and even more so because it was so close to the end," said Ken. "I didn't really need to attack full-on today because I was pretty much in control of the championship but no one could see this coming. Anyway, riding the track was very enjoyable and it makes me want to ride my guts out in Donington even more."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Steve Ramon – Suzuki.
Claudio De Carli
Nagl`s hopes of a world championship are fading fast
Mark De Reuver and Steve Ramon (pic: Paul Harris)
Mark De Reuver and Steve Ramon (pic: Paul Harris)
Tanel Leok leads Mark De Reuver, Max Nagl, Steve Ramon and Evgeny Bobryshev (pic: Paul Harris)
Duke Video Supermoto World Championship Review 2009 [pic credit: Duke Video]
The 2009 FIM Motocross World Championship Official DVD Review by Duke
Ken de Dycker – Suzuki
Steve Ramon - Suzuki.
Ken de Dycker - Suzuki.
Women’s world motocross championship rider Katherine Prumm (pic: Yamaha).
Tyla Rattray wins the 2008 MX2 World Championship.
MX1 race start.
Jonathan Barragan and Steve Ramon.
Marc de Reuver – Honda.
Marc de Reuver - Honda.
Chad Reed celebrates clinching the 2008 AMA Supercross championship.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.