Rattray quits KTM for AMA!

KTM and Tyla Rattray have 'mutually agreed' to part company, so that the 2008 MX2 world champion can fulfil his dream of moving to the AMA in 2009, rather than graduating - as intended - with KTM to the premier MX1 World Championship.

Rattray will thus follow in the footsteps of countryman and fellow KTM MX2 world champion Grant Langston, who moved to America after winning his world title and later experienced title success with Kawasaki and Yamaha.

It is rumoured that Rattray will ride for the multi-title winning Pro Circuit Kawasaki team in 2009.

"KTM and its factory rider Tyla Rattray have reached a mutual decision to terminate the South African's existing contract for the 2009 racing season so that Tyla may pursue his long-term dream of competitive riding in the USA," said a short KTM statement.

"The company, while still convinced that the MX2 World Champion's career would have been better served by remaining in the Motocross World Championship to contest the MX1 title in 2009, nevertheless respects his desire and wishes him well in the next phase of his racing career."

Rattray had been due to headline KTM's 2009 factory MX1 challenge alongside Max Nagl and Jonathan Barragan. Although it would have been his first season on a 450, he was considered a firm title favourite.

Rattray's 2008 team-mate and title rival Tommy Searle will also move to the AMA championships next season, although the young Briton will remain with KTM.

Greg Albertyn was the first South African to win both world championship and AMA motocross titles.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tyla Rattray wins the 2008 MX2 World Championship.
Tomac, Monster Energy Kawasaki, [Credit: Monster Kawasaki]
Simpson joins Sterry at Wilvo KTM
Musquin will ride the 250 KTM for the MX0N
Jeffrey Herlings  2015 MX2
Petar Petrov signs Kawasaki in MX2 GP
Jorge Prado signs KTM until 2020
Jorge Prado signs KTM until 2020
Josh Grant earlier this year on the Two Two Motorsports bike
Justin Barcia wins at RedBud
Steven Frossard has prated ways with the Wilvo KTM team
Happiness is a dirt bike on the back wheel
Ryan Villopoto as his last GP race in Arco di Trento, Italy
The Go Pro image as Cairoli loses the front wheel in the qualifying race
The two 450 KTMs went head to head in three motos, but it was Simpson who got the better of Frossard in the end
The two KTM riders battled all day but in the end Simpson got the better of Frossard
Cyril Despres (KTM) won the 2012 Dakar Rally (M. Maragni/KTM Image)
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.