FIM Awards presented in Monte Carlo.

A special ceremony on Saturday night in Monte Carlo saw the 2008 Motocross, Supermoto and Freestyle FIM champions receive their awards.

The fourth edition of the FIM Off Road Awards saw more than 400 guests attend, including Motocross legends David Bailey, Sebastien Tortelli, Alex Puzar, Michele Rinaldi and Senator of the Italian Parliament Giovanni Torri - the latter receiving the 'Friend of Youthstream and Motocross Award' - as well as Mr. Rumen Petkov, the Bulgarian Minister of Interior.

"As usual it has been a great success for the sport," said Youthstream president Giuseppe Luongo. "It has been a great show and it was an honour to have all the world champions and special guests such as David Bailey, the FIM President Vito Ippolito, the Honorary President Francesco Zerbi, the Vice Presidents altogether in the same place. We had fantastic weather and I am sure our guests were able to enjoy a great weekend in Monte Carlo. There is some time to rest now and we will come back in 2009 with more success in racing hopefully."

Luongo's 25th anniversary in motocross was marked by a message of congratulations from Prince Albert II of Monaco and a special KTM Duke 690 from his colleagues and friends of Youthstream - complete with 'training wheels'!

"The celebration of Giuseppe Luongo's 25th Anniversary was a big surprise for him but I knew already," revealed FIM president Vito Ippolito. "I wish him all the best because his career has been very long and he has overcome so many difficulties bringing the sports to excellent levels."

The FIM Awards marked the end of the 2008 season and also provided a chance to hand spinal cord research foundation Wings For Life - represented by Pit Beirer - a special award helping their cause.

The list of awarded personalities includes:

MX1 World Champion - David Philippaerts
MX2 World Champion and Lovemytime MX2 Qualifying Award Winner - Tyla Rattray
MX3 World Champion - Sven Breugelmans
Motocross of Nations Winner USA - James Stewart-Ryan Villopoto-Tim Ferry
Women's World Champion - Livia Lancelot
125cc Junior World Champion - Matiss Karro
85cc Junior World Champion - Jeffrey Herlings
Junior Motocross World Championship Nations - Holland
Veteran's World Cup Winner - Peter Iven
Jan De Groot Award - Gert Krestinov
MX1 Manufacturer World Champion - Suzuki
MX2 Manufacturer World Champion - KTM
MX3 Manufacturer World Champion - KTM
MX1 Winning Team - Team Teka Suzuki WMX1
MX2 Winning Team - Team Red Bull KTM Factory Racing
MX3 Winning Team - Team JM KTM Racing
Lovemytime MX1 Pole Position Award Winner – Sebastien Pourcel
Motocross MX1/MX2 Best Organizer - Lierop
Motocross MX3 Best Organizer – Santiago de Chile
Motocross Media Development – Donington Park
Motocross Best Infrastructure – Mallory Park
Motocross Best Cooperation – Pit Beirer/KTM
Friend of Youthstream and Motocross – Sen. Giovanni Torri
Friend of Youthstream and Motocross – Rumen Petkov/Bulgarian Minister of Interior

S1 World Champion - Bernd Hiemer
S2 World Champion - Adrien Chareyre
SuperMoto of Nations Winner Italy - Ivan Lazzarini-Davide Gozzini-Attilio Pignotti
Marcel Seurat Award - Elia Sammartin
S1 Manufacturer World Champion - Aprilia
S2 Manufacturer World Champion - Husqvarna
S1 Winning Team - D.R.C. SuperMoto Aprilia Factory Team
S2 Winning Team - Team Husqvarna CH Racing
SuperMoto Best Organizer - Pleven
SuperMoto Best Cooperation – Jordi Roquer/Mila Events
SuperMoto Special Award – Grand Prix of Andorra Pas de la Casa Grandvalira

Freestyle Motocross
FMX World Champion - Rémi Bizouard

Snowcross World Champion - Emil Öhman

Sidecar Cross
Sidecar Cross driver World Champion - Daniël Willemsen
Sidecar Cross passenger World Champion - Reto Grütter
Sidecar Cross Manufacturer World Champion – VMC

Special Awards
Youthstream Career Award – Wim Smits/MAC Lierop
Youthstream Career Award – Eric Geboers
Youthstream Award For The Environment - Giancarlo Pasini/President of the CIE-FIM
Youthstream Award For Contribution To Spinal Cord Research – Wings For Life
Website of the Year – Hans Martin Fetzer
Photographer of the Year – Sarah Gutierrez/Freelance
Journalist of the Year – Anthony Sutton/Dirt Bike Rider (UK)
Journalist of the Year – Jeff Perrett/MOTO Magazine (UK)

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The 2008 Motocross, Supermoto and Freestyle FIM champions receive their awards.
The 2009 FIM Motocross World Championship Official DVD Review by Duke
The ‘2 metre Max’ sound measurement method.
The 2008 FIM Motocross World Championship rider line-up.
The 2009 FIM Motocross of Nations will take place at the Autodromo Daniel Bonara in Franciacorta, Italy.
Riders’ briefing for the FIM Womens` Motocross World Cup participants
CMS/FIM president Dr. Wolfgang Srb, AMA Pro Racing director Steve Whitelock and Youthstream president Giuseppe Luongo discuss the future of motocross at the 2007 Grand Prix of Spain.
The 2006 FIM world champions are crowned at the Off-Road Awards.
The 2006 FIM Off-Road Awards.
The 2006 FIM Off-Road Awards will take place in Monte Carlo on November 25.
Ten times Motocross world champion Stefan Everts celebrates his 100th GP victory at the 2006 Grand Prix of the Netherlands.
Christophe Pourcel – Kawasaki.
2005 FIM Enduro 3 World Champion David Knight (pic: D. Agrati).
2005 FIM Enduro 3 World Champion David Knight (pic: D. Agrati).
2005 FIM Enduro 3 World Champion David Knight (pic: D. Agrati).
From left to right: Wolfgang SRB, Boris Chambon, Sven Breugelmans, Antonio Cairoli, Francesco Zerbi, Stefan Everts, Dennis Verbruggen, Giuseppe Luongo, Steven Clarke and others at the 2005 FIM Off Road Awards (pic: P.Haudiquert/Youthstream).
Pit Beirer (KTM) with the S1 and MX3 Manufacturers World Titles at the 2005 FIM Off Road Awards (pic: P.Haudiquert/Youthstream).
Robert Rasor (American Motorcyclist Association) at the 2005 FIM Off Road Awards (pic: P.Haudiquert/Youthstream).

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.