DAKAR: Day 3 - Coma stretches lead.

A second stage win has allowed Marc Coma to stretch his lead following the third day of the Dakar Rally, the Spaniard putting almost 40 minutes between himself and the chasing pack.

Recovering from the mechanical problems that slowed his progress on day two, Coma paced the Puerto Madryn - Jacobacci stage by a mammoth 17 minutes from Pal anders Ullevalseter.

His performance leaves him with a 39mins lead over Davide Fretigne, who moves ahead of Frans Verhoeven after the Dutchman plummeted to 17th position with problems on the stage.

The second fastest time on the stage has allowed Norway's Ullevalseter to move up to third position overall, while Jacek Czachor and Jonah Street maintain fourth and fifth.

Elsewhere, former winner Cyril Despres, regarded as Coma's closest rival in terms of outright speed, is almost certainly out of the running after once again suffering from the recurring tyre problem that afflicted him on day one.

Losing more than an hour to Coma, Despres is classified 21st, 1hr 32mins behind.

Argentina-Chile Dakar 2009 - Positions on SS3:

1. Marc Coma KTM 05hrs 18m 17s
2. Pal anders Ullevalseter KTM +0hrs 17m 49s
3. Jordi Viladoms KTM +0hrs 17m 49s
4. David Casteu KTM +0hrs 18m 16s
5. Gerard Farres Guell KTM +0hrs 18m 42s
6. Michel Marchini Yamaha +0hrs 21m 38s

Argentina-Chile Dakar 2009 - Positions on SS3:

1. Marc Coma KTM 10hrs 31m 49s
2. Davide Fretigne Yamaha +0hrs 39m 11s
3. Pal anders Ullevalseter KTM +0hrs 42m 25s
4. Jacek Czachor KTM +0hrs 43m 21s
5. Jonah Street KTM +0hrs 44m 36s
6. Jordi Viladoms KTM +0hrs 47m 17s

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Simpson joins Sterry at Wilvo KTM
Musquin will ride the 250 KTM for the MX0N
Jeffrey Herlings  2015 MX2
Jorge Prado signs KTM until 2020
Jorge Prado signs KTM until 2020
Steven Frossard has prated ways with the Wilvo KTM team
Marc Coma has conquered the epic rally five times
The two 450 KTMs went head to head in three motos, but it was Simpson who got the better of Frossard in the end
The two KTM riders battled all day but in the end Simpson got the better of Frossard
Cyril Despres (KTM) won the 2012 Dakar Rally (M. Maragni/KTM Image)
2012 Dakar Rally
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.