DAKAR: Day 9 - Surprise win for Verhoven.

Frans Verhoven took a surprise stage win on day 9 of the 2009 Dakar Rally, while event leader Marc Coma lost less than two minutes to nearest rival Davide Fretigne.

Monday's stage saw the riders enter the Atacama desert, one of the most arid on the planet. The rote was a technical one, with stony tracks followed by coastal trails requiring strong navigation skills to avoid the many tracks heading towards the sea. After that the special went into the desert towards a zone full of dunes. The organisers announced yesterday that the final part of the special, 19 kilometres long with a long incline in a zone of dunes, had been cancelled.

The tricky navigation allowed those starting further down the field to catch the front runners - a situation that bought some relatively unknown names into the top 10.

KTM rider Verhoven won the stage after starting 33rd, with Frétigné reaching the finish 3min 9sec behind with local hero Francisco Lopez third. Rally leader Coma brought his Repsol KTM home in fourth place with factory team-mate Cyril Despres fifth.

The overall leader board thus remained remarkably static with Coma still over one hour clear of Fretigne's Yamaha, with Despres a further 30min behind.

“Today we had a typical technical leg in a Rally Raid, with a lot of navigation. One part was on a very technical terrain, similar to that in Morocco, and then through a zone along the coast, full of tracks that made it hard to see which one was the right one and which made the navigation really complicated,” said Coma.

“At the end we had a track that was a little more used, faster and a few kilometres of dunes at the end. In the end Cyril [Despres], Chaleco [López] and myself ended up together, until we reached a spot where because of the navigation we had to find a reference but couldn't, and Fretigné caught us up. We all formed a group and then somebody would get away but then we would catch them up, that made the leg much more fun.

“I used run-flat mousse tyres, and the truth is that the rear tyre is holding up well. It was a very technical leg, very sinewy, with a lot of cross-country and changes of track that did not let you pick up speed. Around Mendoza we went up to 3 000 metres and more, and you noticed it, but personally it did not affect me and I feel fine,” he concluded.

Tuesday's tenth stage will mark the rally's longest and difficult stretch with a loop that takes them from and back to Copiapo while they continue to tackle the world's driest desert of Atacama, taking in a 670 km special that climbs to just above 2400 m.

Organisers promise veritable mountains of sand, including a series of challenging dunes on the last part of the special. Riders are likely to face extreme temperatures during which reading the condition of the sand will be difficult, even for the top riders.

This is the most northern point of the rally in Chile after which the race then heads east and back into Argentina.

Argentina-Chile Dakar 2009 - Positions on SS9:

1. Frans Verhoven KTM 6hrs 26m 33s
2. Davide Fretigne Yamaha +0hrs 3m 9s
3. Francisco Lopez KTM +0hrs 03m 40s
4. Marc Coma KTM +0hrs 04m 59s
5. Cyril Despres KTM +0hrs 06m 03s

Argentina-Chile Dakar 2009 - Positions after SS9:

1. Marc Coma KTM 37hrs 4m 47s
2. Davide Fretigne Yamaha +1hrs 04m 38s
3. Cyril Despres KTM +1hrs 34m 38s
4. Francisco Lopez KTM +1hrs 59m 19s
5. Jordi Viladoms KTM +2hrs 08m 57s

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Marc Coma during the 2009 Dakar Rally (pic: Barreira C.)
Russell was the fastest on the day
Lettie got the job done, but it`s still Walker than leads
Jonny Walker and Graham Jarvis are battling at the top
Barcia made the best of a bad day
Shaun Simpson had to battle all day with Steven Frossard
The two 450 KTMs went head to head in three motos, but it was Simpson who got the better of Frossard in the end
The two KTM riders battled all day but in the end Simpson got the better of Frossard
Cyril Despres (KTM) won the 2012 Dakar Rally (M. Maragni/KTM Image)
2012 Dakar Rally
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Marc Coma - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Individualcomparison - Unregistered

January 02, 2010 3:25 PM

Male Point,offence eat since thanks finger code welfare leg lie hair attend north as highly consideration among somewhat revolution expense discipline significance environment example payment subject succeed tradition increase well afternoon star substantial gas economy deal file twice servant historical against in connection exercise expert invite impact help variation teaching investigate remove bone image test event beautiful set attack thing front release people assess threaten shake aim challenge come agree hate visit argument safety sorry mainly would whilst former could whose onto link chapter examine reason limited congress gun promise observe

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.