DAKAR: Coma basks in glory.

Marc Coma can call himself a Dakar Rally winner once again after sweeping to a dominant victory on this year's event, almost an hour and a half ahead of the competition.

Coma enjoyed an almost faultless run through the event, this year held for the first time in Argentina and Chile after last year's race was cancelled, to win by 1hr 25mins over Cyril Despres.

Indeed, Despres was expected to be Coma's closest rival over the course of the two weeks, but while the Frenchman struggled with a variety of problems in the opening few days, Coma suffered relitively minor issues to win his second Dakar.

Delighted that the Dakar is finally over, Coma was thrilled to be classified as the winner after just missing out in 2007 and being unable to make amends in 2008.

“I am just so happy! The truth is that it was a very long race and really complicated. I want to thank the whole team for their great work, something that is very important. Without them this would not have been possible and now we can start to enjoy ourselves. The liaison seemed very long; at the beginning I was excited and I could not wait to finish.

“I think we have had a great race. We planned it very well and that meant that we moved into a very early lead. It meant carrying extra pressure, but we knew how to cope with it all. I am very pleased with this and the team's work, really magnificent.

“In such a long race you always have some good moments but you have bad ones too. We had some setbacks, like the day with the oil radiator, and with the puncture which made the race very complicated tactically. We have just had two bad years, back in 2007 I lost the rally just two days before it finished and last year's was cancelled. I finally have a taste of joy again.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Simpson joins Sterry at Wilvo KTM
Musquin will ride the 250 KTM for the MX0N
Jeffrey Herlings  2015 MX2
Jorge Prado signs KTM until 2020
Jorge Prado signs KTM until 2020
Steven Frossard has prated ways with the Wilvo KTM team
Marc Coma has conquered the epic rally five times
The two 450 KTMs went head to head in three motos, but it was Simpson who got the better of Frossard in the end
The two KTM riders battled all day but in the end Simpson got the better of Frossard
Cyril Despres (KTM) won the 2012 Dakar Rally (M. Maragni/KTM Image)
2012 Dakar Rally
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.