Preview – Faenza.

The 2009 MX1 and MX2 Motocross World Championships start this weekend in Faenza, Italy - where the series ended in 2008 with world titles for David Philippaerts (MX1) and Tyla Rattray (MX2).

An impressive nine manufacturers - Aprilia, CCM, Honda, Husqvarna, Kawasaki, KTM, Suzuki, TM, Yamaha - and 40 riders will be present at the season opener, but the spotlight will be on home heroes Philippaerts, who collected his maiden title at Faenza last year, and multiple MX2 champion Tony Cairoli, starting his first full premier class season.

The two Yamaha riders are sure to be fired up by the home support, and eager to inflict an early victory over each other ahead of what looks like being a season-long title fight.

However, plenty of others have the potential to still the limelight, including Teka Suzuki World MX1 team-mates Steve Ramon and Ken de Dycker, who collected second and third in the 2008 championship after a hard fought GP in Faenza, which they both entered with a title chance.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing's Max Nagl will be looking to repeat his 2008 Faenza clean sweep, while fellow factory KTM rider Jonathan Barragan was also a solid contender throughout last year, finishing the season in fourth.

Honda will field two factory teams - Martin Honda MX, featuring Kevin Strijbos and Marc de Reuver, plus CAS Honda competitors Cedric Melotte and Billy Mackenzie. All four are former GP winners.

As well as Philippaerts (Monster) and Cairoli (Red Bull De Carli), Yamaha can count on 2007 title contender Josh Coppins, once again at Monster, and new De Carli signing Tanel Leok.

Former Motocross World Championship rider David Vuillemin will make his comeback to the series after a long period in the AMA. Riding for Bud Racing PSM Vuillemin completes a strong Team Green line-up that also includes fellow Frenchman Sebastien Pourcel in the Kawasaki Racing team. However, the 2008 MX1 Pole Position Award winner will not be 100% at Faenza due to a winter injury.

Aprilia Racing will start the season with an updated MXV 450 ridden by Manuel Priem and Julien Bill, while TM will be represented by Aigar Leok in MX1.

New British manufacturer CCM will line up Tom Church and Jason Dougan with the Buildbase CCM Racing colours.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tony Cairoli and David Philippaerts.
Cairoli will not ride at the MXoN
Tony Cairoli British GP 2015
The Go Pro image as Cairoli loses the front wheel in the qualifying race
Antonio Cairoli celebrate 2009 MX1 title victory
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha
Antonio Cairoli (Yamaha).
Barragan, Cairoli and Leok on the Valkenswaard podium
Cairoli and Philippaerts.
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Tyla Rattray and Antonio Cairoli.
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha.
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha.
MX2-GP World Champion Antonio Cairoli recently took delivery of Yamaha’s extreme 4x4 Rhino.
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha.
Toni Cairoli – Yamaha.
Rattray, Cairoli, Eggens on the Valkenswaard MX2 podium.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.