Preview – Bulgarian Grand Prix.

After last weekend's miserable Faenza mud-fest, the 2008 Motocross World Championships will be hoping for a dry second round at Sevlievo in Bulgaria.

Due to the appalling conditions, the Italian Grand Prix was decided by just one moto in each class, won by Tanel Leok in MX1 and Gautier Paulin in MX2,

For Leok, it was the perfect start to his Yamaha Red Bull De Carli career, while the podium was completed by Teka Suzuki's Ken de Dycker and a surprise appearance by Clement Desalle of LS Motors Honda.

TM Factory's Aigar Leok and MX2 superstar Tony Cairoli now round off the top five. Cairoli, starting his first full 450cc season, injured his ribs in the MX2 class at Sevlievo last season,

Defending MX1 champion David Philippaerts won in Bulgaria last year, but only after a late fall by KTM Silver Action's Jonathan Barragan. Philippaerts began his title defence with ninth at Faenza, three places behind factory Yamaha team-mate Josh Coppins.

After his fine mud ride on his Bud Racing Kawasaki, Paulin could face a KTM onslaught this weekend, if last year's results are anything to go by. Shaun Simpson formed part of an all-orange 2008 podium at Sevlievo, alongside Tommy Searle and Tyla Rattray, and will be expecting great things from his new factory ride after falling on lap one in Faenza and finishing eleventh.

KTM Factory Junior's Jeremy Van Horebeek and NGS Honda's Marvin Musquin will be battling to build on their Faenza podiums, with Yamaha's David Guarneri currently the closest to the top three.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tanel Leok wins a muddy Faenza MX1 season opener.
Tanel Leok (pic: Paul Harris)
Tanel Leok leads Mark De Reuver, Max Nagl, Steve Ramon and Evgeny Bobryshev (pic: Paul Harris)
Barragan, Cairoli and Leok on the Valkenswaard podium
Tommy Searle edges out fellow Brit Shaun Simpson for moto victory in Bulgaria.
Tommy Searle - KTM.
The Gorna Rositza track, Sevlievo, home of the Bulgarian GP.
Tanel Leok – Kawasaki.
Tanel Leok - Kawasaki.
Tanel Leok - Kawasaki.
Tanel Leok - Kawasaki.
Tyla Rattray flies high in Bulgaria.
Leok, Everts, Jorgensen et al lead the MX1 field.
Jorgensen, Leok, Strijbos, Barragan, Everts and Ramon accelerate away.
Tanel Leok - Kawasaki.
de Dycker (#9), Leok (#12), Everts (#72) and Strijbos (#24) hurtle towards turn one.
Tanel Leok – Kawasaki.
Townley leads Leok.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.