Preview - Grand Prix of Portugal.

The 2009 MX1 and MX2 Motocross World Championships head for the hard-packed terrain of Agueda in Portugal this weekend.

The four opening rounds have seen four different winners in both the 250 and 450cc class, but Antonio Cairoli has been leading the MX1 series since Turkey while a strong Gautier Paulin has topped the MX2 standings since a muddy opening round in Faenza.

Cairoli, participating in his first full MX1 season, has good memories of Agueda after taking his first win of 2008 at the circuit, but is under pressure from KTM's Valkenswaard winner Jonathan Barragan, who is now 15 points from the Yamaha rider.

The Spaniard will be looking to exploit home support during the two 'Latin' rounds, with Bellpuig in Spain just one week after nearby Agueda.

Four points behind Barragan, Ken de Dycker will be the sole Teka Suzuki rider for the foreseeable future after a neck injury for 2007 MX1 world champion Steve Ramon at Valkenswaard. de Dycker, who was leading the series after Bulgaria, is still seeking his first win of the season.

Defending champion David Philippaerts of Yamaha Monster Energy took his first ever MX1 red plate courtesy of a second place finish in Agueda last year. The Italian is currently fourth in the MX1 standings just ahead of team-mate Josh Coppins who rounded off last year's podium behind Philippaerts and overall winner Sebastien Pourcel.

The latter started off 2009 with a left shoulder injury and the Kawasaki Racing Team rider dislocated his right shoulder in free practice at Valkenswaard, which means he is unlikely to be present this weekend.

Cairoli's Yamaha Red Bull De Carli team-mate Tanel Leok completes a top six covered by 32 points.

Due to a broken right wrist and scaphoid Kevin Strijbos will not be on the Portuguese gate - and the Martin Honda team then suffered a further heavy blow with the news that team-mate Marc de Reuver dislocated his hip during a training accident.

In the MX2 class Paulin of Kawasaki Bud Racing PSM is looking ever more like a title contender, despite finishing off the podium for the first time this year at Valkenswaard.

Marvin Musquin, riding for team NGS, still sits in second place but saw the gap to Paulin increase to 15 points after Valkenswaard.

Yamaha Monster Energy Ricci Motocross' Davide Guarneri completes the top three in the Championship, 14 points behind Musquin.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
2009 MX1 first turn action
Cairoli will not ride at the MXoN
Tony Cairoli British GP 2015
The Go Pro image as Cairoli loses the front wheel in the qualifying race
Antonio Cairoli celebrate 2009 MX1 title victory
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha
Rui Goncalves (KTM).
Antonio Cairoli (Yamaha).
Barragan, Cairoli and Leok on the Valkenswaard podium
Cairoli and Philippaerts.
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Tony Cairoli and David Philippaerts.
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Tyla Rattray and Antonio Cairoli.
MX1 start.
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha.
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha.
MX2-GP World Champion Antonio Cairoli recently took delivery of Yamaha’s extreme 4x4 Rhino.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.