Preview - Grand Prix of Sweden.

A demanding run of three back-to-back races will end this weekend with the Grand Prix of Sweden, at Uddevalla, round eleven of the 2009 Motocross World Championship.

Superstar MX1 rookie Antonio Cairoli will start the event with a safe 57 point lead over Max Nagl, having won four grands prix so far this season – including the last two events.

The Red Bull Yamaha star's latest triumph came at the expense of Clement Desalle of LS Motors Honda, fast proving to be the surprise of the season. The young Belgian won the first moto by metres over Cairoli, but the Italian's race two win handed him the overall over Desalle, who had clutch issues in the final race.

Desalle is now fifth in the championship but just 19 points behind new runner-up Nagl. The German of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing struggled in the second Latvian heat but still managed to move past defending champion Philippaerts in the points standings.

The latter dropped down to third ahead of Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross team-mate Josh Coppins, coming back to the podium at Kegums after two strong rides.

Cairoli aside, the group of riders spread from second to sixth in the championship are covered by just 30 points with the list of riders including Teka Suzuki's Ken De Dycker, whose Latvian GP was hampered by a first moto crash. Sweden is a milestone venue for De Dycker, who took his maiden overall win at Uddevalla in 2007.

Barragan will not be able to try and repeat his 2008 Swedish GP victory, with the Spaniard due to return at Lommel together with Silver Action KTM team-mate Gert Krestinov.

Meanwhile, it remains to be seen if American Matt Boni will jump onboard the Factory 450 Honda seat left vacant by injured Billy Mackenzie of CAS Honda.

One 'new' rider certain to appear at the Swedish GP - closest to his home country of Norway - is former GP winner Ken Gundersen, who will reinforce Yamaha's line up this weekend as a wild-card rider.

In the MX2 class there is Musquin on top with Paulin and Goncalves completing the top three.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
2009 MX1 first turn action
Cyril Despres (KTM) won the 2012 Dakar Rally (M. Maragni/KTM Image)
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)
James Stewart – Yamaha (pic: Yamaha).
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Marc Coma - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Marc Coma - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Marc Coma - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
The factory Yamaha motocross team will use Ohlins suspension in 2010.
Justin Brayton – Yamaha.
Marvin Musquin - MX2 world champion
David Philippaerts – Monster Yamaha
Antonio Cairoli celebrate 2009 MX1 title victory

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.