Crash.Net MOTO-X News

Reed unstoppable at A3

4 February 2008

Reed won the $1,500 Progressive Holeshot Award in the AMA Supercross class main event and never looked back. Torco Fuels Honda's Kevin Windham followed Reed trough turn one with Red Bull Honda's Davi Millsaps in third.

A three way battle ensued between Windham, Millsaps and Monster Energy Kawasaki's Tim Ferry on lap nine for second place. Millsaps moved into second place where he would finish and Ferry locked up the third-place position, marking the second podium finish of his season.

"After last weekend, I set some goals for myself, and winning this race was definitely one of them," said Reed, the overwhelming title favourite following defending champion James Stewart's withdraw. "I knew that if I won the holeshot, I would be able to get this done. I had a lot in the tank after the race, so I was really happy tonight."

Kawasaki's Austin Stroupe opened the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class main event with the Holeshot Award. On his rear wheel was Jason Lawrence, who made the pass for the lead a few turns later. Points leader Ryan Dungey, of the Rockstar Makita Suzuki, team crashed in turn one and started near the back of the pack.

As Lawrence extended is lead, Dungey's dash to the front of the pack slowed down when he tangled with another rider in the whoops. Lawrence rode off to the win with Stroupe finishing second and Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Bret Metcalfe third.

"I hope to be up here every weekend for the remainder of the season," said Yamaha star Lawrence. "I am so excited to get this win for my team."

Racing continues next Saturday, February 9 at San Diego's Qualcomm Stadium.

AMA Supercross Class Results, Anaheim 3
1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha
2. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda
3. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki
4. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda
5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
6. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki
7. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha
8. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM
9. Troy Adams, Homosassa, Fla., Honda
10. Manuel Gomez, Spain, Kawasaki

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings
1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 122
2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 96
3. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 77
4. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 69
5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 67
6. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 65
7. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 57
8. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 53
9. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM, 53
10. Joshua Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 49

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Anaheim 3:
1. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha
2. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki
3. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
4. Billy Laninovich, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda
5. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Honda
6. Thomas Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki
7. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
8. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
9. Robert Kiniry, LaFayette, N.Y., Honda
10. Gavin Gracyk, Blissfield, Ohio, Honda

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 96
2. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 88
3. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 80
4. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 78
5. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 74
6. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki, 70
7. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 69
8. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Yamaha, 59
9. Gavin Gracyk, Blissfield, Ohio, Honda, 53
10. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Honda, 47