Cairoli takes victory in Istanbul.

Tony Cairoli took his first victory of the 2009 MX1 season, and the world championship lead, in Sunday's inaugural Turkish Grand Prix near Istanbul.

The Italian superstar, winner of two MX2 titles, previously won a premier-class race as a 'wild-card' at Donington Park in 2007, but Sunday's victory was his first as a full time MX1 rider.

Cairoli took his Red Bull Yamaha to two perfect heat victories, the second of which was the toughest as he had to battle countryman and reigning world champion David Philippaerts, who caught and passed Cairoli in the early stages.

Tony carefully studied his opponent, before being prompted to attack by closing Suzuki riders Steve Ramon and Ken de Dycker. After taking the lead, Cairoli stormed to a comfortable four-second victory, while Philippaerts was left to fend off 2007 champion Ramon.

Cairoli had won by eight seconds from Ramon in moto one, but the Belgian was able to claim second overall thanks to his 2-3 race finishes. Philippaerts, fourth in race one for Monster Yamaha, completed the end-of-day rostrum.

Honda's Kevin Strijbos took third ahead of Philippaerts in race one, but could only manager seventh after a fall in race two.

With three rounds gone, Cairoli now leads the world championship by four points from former leader de Dycker (5-4 on Sunday) with Philippaerts ten points from Cairoli in third. Bulgarian Grand Prix winner Josh Coppins, who came into the event second, has slipped to fourth place after two eighth places on Sunday.

In the MX2 class, American Zach Osborne claimed his first grand prix victory after a tense finish to moto two, which saw the Yamaha rider, Honda's Marvin Musquin and Kawasaki's Steven Frossard covered by 2.5sec at the flag.

Osborne had finished third in race one, behind championship leader Paulin Gautier and his fellow Frenchman Vongsana Khounsith, but the pair were ruled out of overall contention due to eighth and twelfth places in moto two.

Nevertheless, Paulin continues to lead the world championship, now by five points from Musquin, with Osborne up to fifth.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)
Team USA takes 20th Motocross of Nations win.
Antonio Cairoli celebrate 2009 MX1 title victory
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha
Antonio Cairoli (Yamaha).
Barragan, Cairoli and Leok on the Valkenswaard podium
Cairoli and Philippaerts.
Tanel Leok wins a muddy Faenza MX1 season opener.
Tony Cairoli and David Philippaerts.
Josh Grant wins Anaheim I 2009 (Pic: Yamaha).
Team USA wins the 2008 Motocross of Nations at Donington Park.
Tyla Rattray wins the 2008 MX2 World Championship.
Zach Osborne - Yamaha.
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Tyla Rattray and Antonio Cairoli.
Chad Reed wins the 2008 AMA Supercross championship.
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.