Barragan, Goncalves win in Benelux.

Jonathan Barragan (MX1) and Rui Goncalves (MX2) emerged triumphant from Sunday's Grand Prix of Benelux, held in the deep Valkenswaard sand.

Barragan claimed victory due to a better second moto result than world championship leader Antonio Cairoli, after both scored one third and one win on Sunday.

Barragan is now second in the championship, 15 points behind the Yamaha Red Bull De Carli rider.

Third at Valkenswaard was Cairoli's team-mate and Faenza winner Tanel Leok, who collected 5-2 race results.

Martin Honda MX's Kevin Strijbos took another fourth overall ahead of current MX1 world champion David Philippaerts, who struggled on the sandy course.

Sand specialist Marc de Reuver was second in race one after an accident, and another fall saw the Dutchman fail to finish race two.

Fellow Honda rider Billy Mackenzie also led race one, but was ultimately left eleventh overall. Pole sitter Max Nagl struggled to 14th.

In the MX2 class, Goncalves took his maiden grand prix win ahead of team-mate Shaun Simpson, who won race one but slipped to third in race two. Goncalves sealed the overall with victory in the final moto, having been second to the injured Scotsman in race one.

Nicolas Aubin of Monster Energy Ricci Motocross was third with 5-2 moto finishes. Championship leader Gautier Paulin was fifth overall and now leads the championship by 15 points over Marvin Musquin, who was seventh overall.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Barragan, Cairoli and Leok on the Valkenswaard podium
MX GP start Valkenswaard
Jonathan Barragan - KTM.
Jonathan Barragan - KTM.
Jonathan Barragan and Steve Ramon.
Jonathan Barragan - KTM.
Rattray, Cairoli, Eggens on the Valkenswaard MX2 podium.
The Eurocircuit at Valkenswaard.
Jonathan Barragan – KTM.
Josh Coppins celebrates another MX1 victory.
KTM Red Bull`s Jonathan Barragan.
Red Bull KTM`s 2007 MX1 and MX2 line-up: Jonathan Barragan, David Philippaerts, Tyla Rattray and Tommy Searle.
Jorgensen, Leok, Strijbos, Barragan, Everts and Ramon accelerate away.
Jonathan Barragan - KTM (pic: R. Archer).
The MX2 start at Valkenswaard.
Stefan Everts (right) congratulates second placed Yamaha L&M team-mate Cedric Melotte on the Valkenswaard podium.
Albion KTM`s Tom Church attacks the Valkenswaard circuit.
Mickael Pichon chases race leader Stefan Everts through the Valkenswaard sand. Pichon would win after a collision between the two [Photo: Ray Archer].

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.