Antonio Cairoli has become the first double winner of the 2009 MX1 season, and extended his championship lead, with victory at Agueda in Portugal.

Red Bull Yamaha De Carli rider Cairoli comfortably beat nearest rival Ken de Dycker (Suzuki) in both motos, although a clash with countryman and reigning world champion David Philippaerts on his way through the field in race two left the Monster Yamaha rider with a broken left index finger.

"Of course I am worried about my finger," said Philippaerts. "We have the confirmation that it is broken and now we will just have to try and see what we can do [this weekend] in Spain. In the incident with Antonio, well, there were two lines and he wanted the first and also the second and came across me. This is part of motocross and not a big problem but it had a big price for me.

"I think now it is difficult to win the title but there are many races ahead and of course bad luck can still hit the others; everything is possible... I have a lot of pain at the moment and just want to heal from this as fast as I can."

Cairoli, who now has a full 'race' lead in the championship standings of 25 points over de Dycker, apologised for the incident.

"I am sorry about the contact with David. I did not expect him to be there and it was not my intention to touch. These things happen and they are not nice," he said.

Third in both races, and in the overall GP standings, was Clement Desalle (Honda).

KTM's Jonathan Barragan is now 16 points behind de Dycker in third in the championship, after a disappointing tenth overall, heading into his home Spanish Grand Prix.

Josh Coppins (Monster Yamaha) is eight points further back, two points ahead of Cairoli's team-mate Tanel Leok, while Philippaerts' DNF has dropped him to sixth, 59 points from class rookie Cairoli.

In the MX2 class, KTM's Rui Goncalves claimed an emotional home victory - his second grand prix win in a row - after finishing second to Marvin Musquin (Honda) in race one, then winning race two by seven-seconds from Steve Frossard (Kawasaki).

Championship leader Gautier Paulin (Kawasaki) claimed sixth overall and is now six points ahead of Musquin (third in race two) with Goncalves up to fourth, 46 points from Paulin and 22 behind Davide Guarneri (Yamaha).