Cairoli wins German Grand Prix.

Ken Roczen became the youngest ever winner of an MX2 Motocross grand prix with victory in front of his home fans in Germany on Sunday.

Competing in only his fifth grand prix, the Teka Suzuki Europe rider finished second in both motos - behind Steven Frossard in heat one and Championship leader Marvin Musquin in heat two - to claim the coveted overall victory at 15 years and 53 days old.

The second youngest rider to win a GP is Dutchman Dave Strijbos (16 years and 172 days) followed by Frenchman Sebastien Tortelli (16 years and 345 days).

CLS Kawasaki rider Frossard was second overall. Frossard won race one after fellow Frenchman Musquin crashed, while a difficult second moto ended in fifth position.

KTM mounted Musquin recovered to sixth in race one before returning to the front in the final outing for third place on the overall podium. Musquin is now an extended 38 points ahead of Gautier Paulin, who scored just four points less than his opponent on Sunday with 5-3 race finishes.

In the premier MX1 class, local star Max Nagl came close to replicating Roczen's victory, but his 1-3 race results were narrowly beaten by 2-1 finishes for world championship leader Antonio Cairoli.

Cairoli came within half a second of Nagl's KTM during a thrilling conclusion to race one, before the Yamaha rider claimed a confident six second victory over Suzuki's Ken de Dycker in race two.

de Dycker, seventh in race one, joined Cairoli and Nagl on the overall podium.

Cairoli now holds a 41 point lead over reigning champion David Philippaerts, who took two fourth places at Teutschenthal. Nagl is now just four points behind the Monster Yamaha rider in third.

Tagged as: Cairoli , Roczen , Germany

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ken Roczen won his first ever GP at his fifth MX2 appearance.
Cairoli will not ride at the MXoN
ken roczen
Tony Cairoli British GP 2015
The Go Pro image as Cairoli loses the front wheel in the qualifying race
Roczen went 2-1 for the overall victory at High Point
Ken Roczen (pic: Paul Harris)
Antonio Cairoli celebrate 2009 MX1 title victory
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha
Antonio Cairoli (Yamaha).
Barragan, Cairoli and Leok on the Valkenswaard podium
Cairoli and Philippaerts.
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Tony Cairoli and David Philippaerts.
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Tyla Rattray and Antonio Cairoli.
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha.
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.