Cairoli wins MX1 title.

de Dycker, who confirmed his fourth pole position of 2009 on Saturday with a dominant performance that saw him fastest in both practice sessions and then peerless in the Qualification Heat, took the lead early in both sprints and was able to animate the many Belgian fans in the crowd with a comfortable speed advantage.

"I was having so much fun out there and it really helped me,” said Ken. “It was not so easy because the track was so demanding and coming up to lapped riders I really had to concentrate. Sometimes I could look around and saw a lot of people cheering so I was waving to them when I could; it was a really nice experience. This was not a simple GP so I am really pleased with the result."

Second overall was Monster Yamaha's Josh Coppins, with 4-2 race results, with LS Honda's Clement Desalle third with 6-3 race finishes. Outgoing champion David Philippaerts had been second to de Dycker in race one, but managed only eighth in race two.

The closest fight at the sharp end of the world championship is now between Philippaerts, Desalle and de Dycker for third. The trio will start the final round just four points apart.

The MX2 title will go down to the wire, although Marvin Musquin will start the season finale with a healthy 22 point advantage over factory KTM team-mate Rui Goncalves after victory at Lierop.

Goncalves beat Musquin in race one, when the Frenchman fought back from an opening lap fall to claim second, but fortunes were reversed in race two when Goncalves fell twice, damaging his right shoulder and leaving him third at the flag.

The Grand Prix of Brazil will be the fifteenth and final round of the championship, in two weeks' time.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Antonio Cairoli celebrate 2009 MX1 title victory
Cairoli will not ride at the MXoN
Ryan Dungey champion
Tony Cairoli British GP 2015
Australian champion Matt Moss was taken to hospital after the crash
Always a crowd favourite, Knighter has been away from world enduro for some time
Nagl`s hopes of a world championship are fading fast
The Go Pro image as Cairoli loses the front wheel in the qualifying race
Duke Video Supermoto World Championship Review 2009 [pic credit: Duke Video]
The 2009 FIM Motocross World Championship Official DVD Review by Duke
Marvin Musquin - MX2 world champion
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha
Antonio Cairoli (Yamaha).
Barragan, Cairoli and Leok on the Valkenswaard podium
Cairoli and Philippaerts.
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Tony Cairoli and David Philippaerts.
The 2008 Motocross, Supermoto and Freestyle FIM champions receive their awards.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.