Musquin wins MX2 World Championship.

In the MX1 class, Antonio Cairoli had already claimed the title - entering the final round an unbeatable 50 points clear of KTM's Max Nagl. The Italian will have been grateful for that advantage, since he had a bad day in Brazil, claiming only 6-12 race finishes.

That was still enough for the Red Bull Yamaha star to finish the year 36 points clear of Nagl, who took 2-5 race finishes on a day when Belgians Clement Desalle and Steve Ramon shared the moto wins.

Having held off Nagl in race one, when Ramon was only seventh, Desalle - who thrilled the fans by occasionally clearing a lengthy uphill triple - was unable to reel in the Teka Suzuki rider in race two, and instesda found himself under late pressure from Josh Coppins (Monster Yamaha).

Desalle held on to second by 1.6sec and took overall victory by a comfortable eight points from Ramon. Desalle, the surprise of the MX1 season, thus finished the year third in the championship, having pulled eleven points clear of Coppins' team-mate Davide Philippaerts.

The 2008 world champion took 3-7 finishes on Sunday and claimed fourth in the championship by just two points from 2010 team-mate Ken de Dycker, whose Teka Suzuki seat looks set to go to Desalle.

Coppins, whose future plans are unknown, confirmed sixth in the standings.

Tagged as: KTM , Marvin Musquin , Brazil

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Marvin Musquin - MX2 world champion
Simpson joins Sterry at Wilvo KTM
Musquin will ride the 250 KTM for the MX0N
Marvin Musquin
Jeffrey Herlings  2015 MX2
Jorge Prado signs KTM until 2020
Jorge Prado signs KTM until 2020
Steven Frossard has prated ways with the Wilvo KTM team
Marvin is cruising towards an AMA motocross title
Musquin and Martin are matched on wins but the reigning champ has the lead
The two 450 KTMs went head to head in three motos, but it was Simpson who got the better of Frossard in the end
The two KTM riders battled all day but in the end Simpson got the better of Frossard
Cyril Despres (KTM) won the 2012 Dakar Rally (M. Maragni/KTM Image)
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Jordi Viladoms - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)
Cyril Despres - KTM (Pic: van Oers J.)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.