Stewart wins Anaheim.

Kawasaki's James Stewart won the opening round of the AMA Amp'd Mobile Supercross Series in front of a sell-out crowd at Anaheim's Angel Stadium, beating rivals Chad Reed and Ricky Carmichael into the lower podium places.

Although Honda's Kyle Lewis got the holeshot, it was Ernesto Fonseca, also Honda-mounted, who jumped into the early lead, which he held until a fourth lap crash removed him from contention and left Stewart, Chad Reed and Carmichael to battle it out ahead of the chasing pack.

All three took turns to lead, with Reed gaining the early advantage for Yamaha, before Carmichael took the lead for Suzuki on lap seven. However, when the multiple champion crashed shortly afterwards, Reed regained top spot - only to see Stewart move ahead on lap nine. Once in the lead, 'Bubba' assumed control, with Reed finishing second ahead of the recovering Carmichael.

"I felt like I rode a great race," said Stewart, who adds the Anaheim win to two previous victories in the Amp'd Mobile World Supercross GP. "I knew I was strong when lap 10 came around. I've been putting in a lot of hard work at home with my trainer. I want to stay consistent and I want to take the season slow."

"Unfortunately, it didn't work out the way we wanted tonight, but we had a good race," a disappointed Carmichael admitted, "Chad made a mistake and I got the drive to get by him, but then I made a mistake and went down. It was survival after that, and I don't know how I got back on the podium! The guys were riding real well tonight - and I need to get better!"

Andrew Short took the Western Region AMA Supercross Lites Series opener for Honda, but had to battle past holeshot winner Darcy Lange - the AMA national Arenacross champion - and Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto, who was making his professional supercross début. Eventually getting to the front by lap nine, Short pulled away to pick up the third win of his career. Villopoto was second, with Honda's Billy Laninovich completing the podium.


250 main event:

1. James Stewart Kawasaki
2. Chad Reed Yamaha
3. Ricky Carmichael Suzuki
4. Mike LaRocco Honda
5. Ivan Tedesco Suzuki
6. Ernesto Fonseca Honda
7. Nick Wey Honda
8. Travis Preston Honda
9. Michael Byrne Kawasaki
10. David Vuillemin Honda

West Lites main evcent:

1. Andrew Short Honda
2. Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki
3. Billy Laninovich Honda
4. Grant Langston Kawasaki
5. Darcy Lange Kawasaki
6. Paul Carpenter Honda
7. Jake Weimer Honda
8. Brett Metcalfe Yamaha
9. Mike Alessi KTM
10. Eric Sorby Honda

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Carmichael chases Stewart (pic: Steve Bruhn).
Tomac, Monster Energy Kawasaki, [Credit: Monster Kawasaki]
Stewart`s injury from Lille may affect his AMA return
James Stewart
Petar Petrov signs Kawasaki in MX2 GP
Josh Grant earlier this year on the Two Two Motorsports bike
Justin Barcia wins at RedBud
Marvin is cruising towards an AMA motocross title
The inventor of the Bubba Scrub
Happiness is a dirt bike on the back wheel
Ryan Villopoto as his last GP race in Arco di Trento, Italy
James Stewart – Yamaha (pic: Yamaha).
Chad Reed - Monster Energy Kawasaki
Ryan Villopoto - Kawasaki (Pic:
James Stewart - Yamaha (pic: Yamaha).
James Stewart - Yamaha (pic: Yamaha).
James Stewart - Yamaha (pic: Yamaha).
James Stewart - Yamaha (pic: Yamaha).

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.