Carmichael ups pressure with Indianapolis win.

Suzuki's Ricky Carmichael raced to his fifth win of the season - and second victory in a row - at Saturday night's Indianapolis Supercross, to close to within one point of the AMA Supercross series lead.

Honda's Ernesto Fonseca earned his first $1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award of the season at the start of the main event, with reigning World Supercross GP/AMA Supercross champion Carmichael in close pursuit.

However, Kawasaki's James Stewart - arguably Carmichael's biggest title rival - fell in turn one, leaving him last, while AMA championship leader Chad Reed completed the opening corner in sixth.

Carmichael then passed Fonseca for the lead on lap 2 and pulled away from the field with ease, while Stewart worked into second place on lap 10 - but was unable to catch Carmichael.

Reed passed Honda's Nick Wey for third place late in the race and was able to hold onto his AMA Supercross points lead, but with Carmichael - who already leads the 2006 World SX GP series - now breathing down his neck.

"To be honest, it was pretty uneventful for me. I got a really good start on my Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 and then I got up front and I just tried to keep an eye on Chad Reed and James Stewart and mark them on the track. Then I just tried to do the best that I could and put in some good laps," said RC.

The Indianapolis victory follows the announcement that Carmichael regained the 25 points that he'd lost when the AMA penalised him for use of illegal fuel at the recent San Diego round. The AMA rescinded the points penalty earlier in the week.

"I'm happy to get the points back," said Carmichael. "Now I have a chance at the Championship. I think that this experience will help everyone in the long run and as the defending champion, I want to help the sport."

This week, the AMA riders travel to Florida to prepare for next weekend's race at Daytona International Speedway. For Carmichael - and arch rival Stewart - it is a home event which both is eager to win.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ricky Carmichael – Suzuki (pic: Suzuki).
Ricky Carmichael, AUS-X Open [Credit: AUS-X Open]
Brit Paul Bolton wins in Ecuador
Webb clocks up title number two in Ontarion
Martin went 2-1 for the overall
Walker smashes the Polish coal mine
Another win for Walker
It`s the end of 2015 for Kevin Strijbos
Elliott Banks-Browne wins his first British title....
A GP win in LOmmel was a fantastic result for Simpson
Van Horebeek gets the call up for another year with Yamaha
Jonny Walker goes 2 for 2 with back to back wins
Ryan Dungey wins Millville
Max Anstie wins Latvia GP MX2 qualifying race
A double victory continued Romain Febvre`s stunning season
Justin Barcia wins at RedBud
It`s been a tough few years for AC50
Happiness is a dirt bike on the back wheel

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.