James Stewart won his third consecutive Amp'd Mobile AMA Supercross Series/World Supercross GP race at Houston's Reliant Stadium on Saturday, tying the Kawasaki star level with Ricky Carmichael at the top of the world championship standings.

Stewart's team-mate Michael Byrne won the $1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award, with the #7 in second and Suzuki rider Carmichael third. Stewart moved into the lead later on the opening lap, while Carmichael settled into second with Yamaha's Chad Reed taking third.

"I am having a blast out there," said Stewart, who led all 20 laps. "I am pumped to tie up the points for the world championship, and if I want to have a shot at winning the AMA championship, I need to win races. I had a great pace out there tonight."

As Stewart indicated, he is now within 5-points of Reed for second in the AMA championship standings, with RC a further 12-points clear at the top - but increasingly within sight.

Related Articles

"I had a great start tonight but I was unable to run with James' (Stewart) pace in the first three laps," said Carmichael. "I was fighting hard out there and not riding conservatively but, at the same time, I do not want to take too many chances. I have a decent lead for the AMA championship but want to win the world championship as well, so I have to step up at these last few races."

"James Stewart has got six wins now, I've got six wins and we're tied for the World title: It's what everybody wants to see. But I'm just looking forward to getting better; to improving my performance at the beginning of the race and still being there at the end," added the reigning champion.

Meanwhile, Honda's Davi Millsaps won his first Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites championship after leading 13 of 15 laps in the main event.

Privateer Chad Ward won the Holeshot Award, while Millsaps started his charge to the front of the pack after a mid pack start. However, last week's winner Josh Grant crashed and did not return to the race due to mechanical failure.

On lap 2, Millsaps moved past Ward and rode off to his fourth win of the season. Honda's Thomas Hahn finished second and Kawasaki's Chris Gosselaar finished third.

"This is great," said Millsaps. "I have been looking forward to this my whole life and I have a lot of people to thank, especially my mother, who has been behind me my whole career.

"Now that I have this number 1 plate for the AMA Supercross Lites class, I am ready to go race with the big boys in the AMA Supercross class," he warned.

Amp'd Mobile AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Houston:
James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki
Ricky Carmichael, Havana, Fla., Suzuki
Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
Michael Byrne, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Honda
Nicholas Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Honda
Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Honda
Ryan Clark, Waddell, Ariz., Honda

Amp'd Mobile AMA Supercross Series Season Standings:
Ricky Carmichael, Tallahassee, Fla., Suzuki, 281
Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha, 269
James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 264
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 209
Nicholas Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Honda, 198
Michael Byrne, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 197
Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Honda, 160
Ernesto Fonseca, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 125
Mike LaRocco, Corona, Calif., Honda, 108
Tim Ferry, Dade City, Fla., Honda, 108

Amp'd Mobile World Supercross GP Season Standings:
Ricky Carmichael, Havana, Fla., Suzuki, 308
James Stewart, Tallahassee, Fla., Kawasaki, 308
Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha, 287
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 243
Nicholas Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Honda, 230
Michael Byrne, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 227
Ryan Clark, Waddell, Ariz., Honda, 162
Jeff Gibson, Blacklick, Ohio,, Honda, 160
Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda, 159
Tyler Evans, Corona, Calif., Suzuki, 116

Amp'd Mobile Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Event Results, Houston:
Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda
Thomas Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda
Christopher Gosselaar, Victorville, Calif., Kawasaki
Jay Marmont, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
Matt Goerke, Lake Helen Fla., Yamaha
Josh Summey, Stanley, N.C., Honda
Kelly Smith, Ludington, Much., Honda
Teddy Maier, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Kawasaki
Sean Hamblin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
Josh Woods, Flints, Mich., Suzuki

Amp'd Mobile Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings:
Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 166
Chris Gosselaar, Victorville, Calif., Kawasaki, 134
Joshua Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 119
Thomas Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 102
Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Yamaha, 96
Kelly Smith, Ludington, Mich., Honda, 81
Robert Kiniry, Lafayette, N.Y., Honda, 75
Teddy Maier, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Kawasaki, 61
Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 60
Jay Marmont, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 54