Career win number 93 and six grands prix victories in succession was how reigning nine-times world champion Stefan Everts left the MX1 Grand Prix of Bulgaria.

The Belgian maintained his perfect 2006 run with two moto victories in vastly different weather conditions around the thrilling Sevlievo track, which was quick and dry for the first moto but then the heavens opened and dropped a plethora of rain onto the venue creating a difficult and technical test, as well as constituting the first wet race of the season.

Despite insisting that a repeat of his Japanese domination would be unlikely on Saturday afternoon, Everts faced little opposition in both races after taking the lead within the first two laps of both sprints. Suzuki team-mates Kevin Strijbos and Steve Ramon were second and third in both outings, while Everts's superiority has now translated into an 81 point advantage over Kawasaki's Tanel Leok in the world championship standings - meaning that he can now afford not to finish three motos and still be in front.

Related Articles

"Any race is a new race so anything can still happen but I have managed to keep the pace up and not make any mistakes," said Stefan after his latest triumph. "The second moto was difficult because of the conditions and I had to lose my goggles after a few laps. I had to slow down because of all the mud in my eyes but overall I am happy with the day. Coming here I was unsure because this is not the best track for me to try and win like Japan but I was consistent with my speed. The bike has been great on the starts and being able to push hard in the first ten to fifteen minutes really makes a difference."

In MX2, world champion Antonio Cairoli took his fourth moto win of the season in the first outing, but would limp away from the impressive venue after two crashes in a very wet and slippery second moto forced a second DNF from the twelve heats in total held so far.

Cairoli had weathered a late first race attack from championship leader Christophe Pourcel for a very convincing moto one win, with KTM's David Philippaerts third, but Cairoli then crashed on the first corner of the second heat and was on the fringes of the top ten in very tricky conditions when he crashed on the rhythm section and went down heavily. The Sicilian hurt his knee in a spill that snapped his brace and damaged his Yamaha too much to continue.

"This year is not going so well at the moment," confessed Antonio. "When I finish the first lap in the top three I can win but when I don't start OK or go down early on then my result is not great. I felt fast here and even though I was at the back in the second moto by the fifth lap I was near the top ten. The track was very slippery and I made a small mistake and it was a big punishment. I lost a lot of points and I don't feel very lucky so far this season. Physically I am OK but I feel bad inside for the loss today."

In his absence, the second race - and grand prix - was won by KTM's Marc de Reuver, with Tyla Rattray second and Philippaerts third. However, in overall terms, Philippaerts was second behind de Reuver with Christophe Pourcel third - even though the top three were tied and it was only the race two order which decided the overall GP ranking.

"I had a problem yesterday so I was starting from behind", said de Reuver. "In the first heat I touched another rider at the start but in the second one I started much better. I saw Rattray was arriving from behind but I stayed focused and won the race. At the end I was also surprised to be the overall winner!"

Christophe Pourcel now leads de Reuver by two points in the world championship standings.

Bulgaria represented the first of three consecutive meetings and the teams now travel directly to Italy and the Montevarchi circuit before heading to Matterley Basin and the British Grand Prix.

MX1 - Race 1:
Pos. Rider Manufacturer Nat. Total Time
1 S. Everts Yamaha BEL 40' 47.650
2 K. Strijbos Suzuki BEL +6.971
3 S. Ramon Suzuki BEL +11.846
4 B. Jorgensen Honda DNK +16.978
5 P. Leuret Honda FRA +27.050
6 W. Avis KTM RSA +31.597
7 K. De Dycker Honda BEL +33.118
8 J. Bill Yamaha GBR +35.635
9 T. Leok Kawasaki EST +47.909
10 J. Garcia Vico Honda ESP +56.167

MX1 - Race 2:
Pos. Rider Manufacturer Nat. Total Time
1 S. Everts Yamaha BEL 40' 51.233
2 K. Strijbos Suzuki BEL +2.117
3 S. Ramon Suzuki BEL +3.631
4 T. Leok Kawasaki EST +27.962
5 B. Jorgensen Honda DNK +39.143
6 K. De Dycker Honda BEL +1' 40.327
7 P. Leuret Honda FRA +1' 53.287
8 J. Garcia Vico Honda ESP +1' 59.266
9 M. Van Daele Honda BEL +2' 5.055
10 A. Salvini Suzuki ITA +1 lap(s)

Championship standings MX1:
Pos. Rider Manufacturer Nat. Points
1 Stefan Everts Yamaha BEL 292
2 Tanel Leok Kawasaki EST 211
3 Kevin Strijbos Suzuki BEL 209
4 Ken De Dycker Honda BEL 197
5 Steve Ramon Suzuki BEL 191
6 Jonathan Barragan KTM ESP 150
7 Pascal Leuret Honda FRA 123
8 Manuel Priem Yamaha BEL 106
9 Cedric Melotte Yamaha BEL 105
10 Brian Jorgensen Honda DNK 102

MX2 - Race 1:
Pos. Rider Manufacturer Nat. Total Time
1 A. Cairoli Yamaha ITA 40' 35.110
2 C. Pourcel Kawasaki FRA +1.274
3 D. Philippaerts KTM ITA +11.806
4 S. Pourcel Kawasaki FRA +23.350
5 T. Rattray KTM RSA +26.069
6 M. De Reuver KTM NED +36.806
7 N. Aubin Kawasaki FRA +41.223
8 D. Guarneri Yamaha ITA +49.615
9 G. Swanepoel Kawasaki RSA +52.725
10 A. Boissi?re Yamaha FRA +58.522

MX2 - Race 2:
Pos. Rider Manufacturer Nat. Total Time
1 M. De Reuver KTM NED 41' 34.286
2 T. Rattray KTM RSA +2.234
3 D. Philippaerts KTM ITA +19.618
4 C. Pourcel Kawasaki FRA +45.692
5 S. Pourcel Kawasaki FRA +55.654
6 R. Goncalves KTM POR +56.996
7 C. Nunn KTM GBR +1' 0.230
8 M. Monni KTM ITA +1' 2.588
9 L. Seguy Yamaha FRA +1' 36.083
10 K. Gundersen Yamaha NOR +1' 42.325

Championship standings MX2:
Pos. Rider Manufacturer Nat. Points
1 Christophe Pourcel Kawasaki FRA 236
2 Marc De Reuver KTM NED 234
3 Tyla Rattray KTM RSA 219
4 Antonio Cairoli Yamaha ITA 187
5 Billy MacKenzie Yamaha GBR 160
6 David Philippaerts KTM ITA 160
7 Carl Nunn KTM GBR 143
8 Kenneth Gundersen Yamaha NOR 122
9 Alessio Chiodi Yamaha ITA 111
10 Tommy Searle Kawasaki GBR 109