Carmichael cleans up at Red Bud.

Reigning AMA Motocross Champion Ricky Carmichael raced to his fourth straight victory of the season in Sunday's fifth round of the championship at Red Bud Track 'n Trail in Michigan.

The Makita Suzuki rider took the holeshot in both 30-minute races, leading the first from start to finish, then came back from a crash early in the second race to beat Kawasaki's James Stewart who was making his return to action after missing a round through injury.

Carmichael now heads the series by 30 points from Yamaha's Chad Reed, who finished third in both races.

In the Motocross Lites class, Pro Circuit Kawasaki's rising star Ryan Villopoto took the overall victory with 1-2 moto finishes, with KTM's Mike Alessi winning race two but losing out on the overall after finishing third - behind Villopoto and Andrew McFarlane - in race one.

Meanwhile another former grand prix star - and world champion no less - Ben Townley made his belated AMA debut, finishing fifth overall with 8-3 moto finishes. However, the results don't do the Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider justice as he suffered several falls. BT is now being tipped to win at least one of the remaining races.

In the Lites championship standings, Alessi is now just five points in front of Villopoto.

Motocross class overall – Red Bud:
1. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki) 1-1
2. James Stewart (Kawasaki) 2-2
3. Chad Reed (Yamaha) 3-3
4. Kevin Windham (Honda) 4-4
5. Davi Millsaps (Honda) 5-6
6. Tim Ferry (Honda) 7-5
7. Nick Wey (Honda) 6-8
8. David Vuillemin (Yamaha) 8-7
9. Travis Preston (Honda) 9-9
10. Kyle Lewis (Honda) 10-10

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ricky Carmichael - Makita Suzuki (pic: Frank Hoppen).
Red Bull Knockout
Jeffrey Herlings Red Bull Knockout
Ricky Carmichael, AUS-X Open [Credit: AUS-X Open]
Webb clocks up title number two in Ontarion
It`s the end of 2015 for Kevin Strijbos
Van Horebeek gets the call up for another year with Yamaha
Jonny Walker at Red Bull Romaniacs
Justin Barcia wins at RedBud
It`s been a tough few years for AC50
The inventor of the Bubba Scrub
Happiness is a dirt bike on the back wheel
Team USA takes 20th Motocross of Nations win.
Suzuki GB`s off-roading line-up for 2009 [pic credit: Suzuki]
Tommy Searle - KTM
Tyla Rattray and Antonio Cairoli.
The 2008 FIM Motocross World Championship rider line-up.
Robbie Maddison leapt into history with a new distance record on New Year`s Day in Las Vegas   [pic credit: Justin/Red Bull]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.