Reigning AMA Motocross champion Ricky Carmichael said farewell to the gnarly Unadilla circuit in the best way possible, with two comfortable wins in Sunday's sixth round of the 2006 championship.

The Suzuki star's task was made considerably easier after Kawasaki's James Stewart, the only rider capable to challenging RC in terms of sheer speed, suffered a high speed fall in morning practice and was forced to miss his second race of the season due to feeling stiff and sore.

That left Carmichael, who is retiring from full time racing at the end of this season, to take his fifth straight win of the year and extends his points lead over Yamaha's Chad Reed - who rode despite a knee injury - to 44 points.

Related Articles

Honda's Kevin Windham finished second overall behind Carmichael on Sunday with a 3-2 moto finishes while another 'red rider', rookie Davi Millsaps, was third with 2-3 results. Reed was fourth overall.

"They changed the track and the changes they made were good and it turned out in my favour," said Carmichael. "I actually fell in the second moto and I'm not sure anyone saw me. I was able to get back up and continue on and it didn't really affect the outcome."

In AMA Motocross Lites, Ryan Villopoto picked up his third consecutive win, and fourth of the season, moving him into the points lead ahead of KTM's Mike Alessi.

Alessi finished third with a 1-7 moto finishes with Honda's Andrew Short second after 3-2 results.

The Toyota AMA Motocross Championship, presented by FMF, heads to Colorado next week for the 2nd Annual Toyota Trucks Thunder Valley National in Lakewood on July 23.

AMA Motocross results - Unadilla:
1. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki) 50 points
2. Kevin Windham (Honda) 42
3. Davi Millsaps (Honda) 42
4. Chad Reed (Yamaha) 36
5. Tim Ferry (Honda) 32
6. David Vuillemin (Yamaha) 30

AMA Motocross championship standings:
1. Carmichael 292
2. Reed 248
3. Windham 195
4. Millsaps 194
5. Wey 178
6. Preston 165