Carmichael wins on Unadilla farewell.

Reigning AMA Motocross champion Ricky Carmichael said farewell to the gnarly Unadilla circuit in the best way possible, with two comfortable wins in Sunday's sixth round of the 2006 championship.

The Suzuki star's task was made considerably easier after Kawasaki's James Stewart, the only rider capable to challenging RC in terms of sheer speed, suffered a high speed fall in morning practice and was forced to miss his second race of the season due to feeling stiff and sore.

That left Carmichael, who is retiring from full time racing at the end of this season, to take his fifth straight win of the year and extends his points lead over Yamaha's Chad Reed - who rode despite a knee injury - to 44 points.

Honda's Kevin Windham finished second overall behind Carmichael on Sunday with a 3-2 moto finishes while another 'red rider', rookie Davi Millsaps, was third with 2-3 results. Reed was fourth overall.

"They changed the track and the changes they made were good and it turned out in my favour," said Carmichael. "I actually fell in the second moto and I'm not sure anyone saw me. I was able to get back up and continue on and it didn't really affect the outcome."

In AMA Motocross Lites, Ryan Villopoto picked up his third consecutive win, and fourth of the season, moving him into the points lead ahead of KTM's Mike Alessi.

Alessi finished third with a 1-7 moto finishes with Honda's Andrew Short second after 3-2 results.

The Toyota AMA Motocross Championship, presented by FMF, heads to Colorado next week for the 2nd Annual Toyota Trucks Thunder Valley National in Lakewood on July 23.

AMA Motocross results – Unadilla:
1. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki) 50 points
2. Kevin Windham (Honda) 42
3. Davi Millsaps (Honda) 42
4. Chad Reed (Yamaha) 36
5. Tim Ferry (Honda) 32
6. David Vuillemin (Yamaha) 30

AMA Motocross championship standings:
1. Carmichael 292
2. Reed 248
3. Windham 195
4. Millsaps 194
5. Wey 178
6. Preston 165

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ricky Carmichael - Makita Suzuki (pic: Frank Hoppen).
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)
Team USA takes 20th Motocross of Nations win.
Tanel Leok wins a muddy Faenza MX1 season opener.
Josh Grant wins Anaheim I 2009 (Pic: Yamaha).
Team USA wins the 2008 Motocross of Nations at Donington Park.
Tyla Rattray wins the 2008 MX2 World Championship.
Chad Reed wins the 2008 AMA Supercross championship.
Ricky Carmichael made his final Motocross of Nations appearance in the 2007 event.
USA (1st), France (2nd) and Belgium (3rd) on the 2007 Motocross of Nations podium.
Team USA`s Ricky Carmichael at the 2007 Motocross of Nations.
Grant Langston celebrates winning the 2007 AMA Motocross championship.
Ramon wins 2007 MX1 Motocross world championship.
Ramon wins 2007 MX1 Motocross world championship.
Ramon wins 2007 MX1 Motocross world championship.
Antonio Cairoli wins on his MX1 debut at the 2007 British GP.
Ben Townley - Kawasaki (pic: TFS).
Ricky Carmichael - Suzuki  (pic: Steve Bruhn).

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.