Suzuki's Ricky Carmichael claimed his sixth-straight overall win of the year with a double victory at Sunday's seventh-round of the AMA Motocross Championship at Thunder Valley Motocross Park, Colorado.

Carmichael - undefeated ever since losing the season-opener to Kawasaki's James Stewart - took his 141st AMA victory with convincing 1-1 moto wins, giving him a 69 point lead in the series standings over Yamaha's Chad Reed with five rounds to go.

"It's always tough to come here because of the elements and altitude," said Carmichael, who also won the inaugural event at Thunder Valley a year ago. "We are down, like, 22 percent on horsepower due to altitude. It's always fun to come to a track that is relatively new. This is a special weekend because my friend Ernesto Fonseca was here and I was super pumped to see him."

Related Articles

Honda rookie rider Davi Millsaps finished second overall with a 3-2 moto finishes while Stewart, who was returning from a high-speed crash that knocked him out of competition last week at Unadilla, finished third with 2-5 results.

In the Motocross Lites class, Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto notched his fourth overall victory of the season to extend his title lead.

Results - Motocross Class:
1. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki) 1-1
2. Davi Millsaps (Honda) 3-2
3. James Stewart (Kawasaki) 2-5
4. Kevin Windham (Honda) 4-4
5. Travis Preston (Honda) 5-7
6. Tim Ferry (Yamaha) 8-6
7. Michael Byrne (Kawasaki) 6-8
8. Chad Reed (Yamaha) 16-3
9. Josh Summey (Honda) 10-10
10. David Vuillemin (Yamaha) 7-13

Results - Motocross Lites Class:
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki) 1-1
2. Broc Hepler (Suzuki) 4-2
3. Mike Alessi (KTM) 3-3
4. Andrew McFarlane (Yamaha) 5-5
5. Martin Davalos (Yamaha) 6-6
6. Nathan Ramsey (KTM) 8-9
7. Andrew Short (Honda) 2-33
8. Danny Smith (Honda) 9-12
9. Joshua Grant (Honda) 19-4
10. Steve Boniface (Honda) 7-15