Carmichael captures record 100th motocross win.

Carmichael's milestone victory was hotly contested by his archrival, Kawasaki's James Stewart. After Stewart walked away with a narrow first moto victory, the stage was set for Carmichael to earn the overall by winning race two – and RC found himself in second place, trailing Stewart, in the early stages of the final race.

Carmichael stuck to Stewart's rear tire for the opening 11 laps, missing on every attempt to overtake the lead, then made a high speed pass at the top of one of Budds Creeks' hills. Once out front, Carmichael never looked back and wound up cruising to the win, the 148th of his career.

"I told you guys from the beginning that it was going to be hard for me to win this weekend," said Carmichael. "He got me both starts today. I was just riding behind him trying to make a move. On this track it was hard for me to do anything on him. The section I finally passed him, James had a great line on the inside the entire race. The lap I passed him I was finally able to get by him and kept it clean from there."

Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto picked up his first series win of the season in AMA Motocross Lites.

With the win, Villopoto, who is the reigning AMA Motocross Lites champion, extended his points lead to 14 points over Kawasaki team-mate Ben Townley. Villopoto was completely dominant on this day, winning both motos with double digit margins of victory. Townley turned in 2-2 moto finishes for second overall, while Yamaha's Jason Lawrence was third overall (3-3).

The AMA Toyota Motocross Championship, presented by FMF, will take a one-week hiatus before heading to Michigan on June 30-July 1.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ricky Carmichael celebrates winning the 2006 AMA Motocross championship.
Cyril Despres of KTM wins the 2010 Dakar Rally (Pic: van Oers J.)
Team USA takes 20th Motocross of Nations win.
Tanel Leok wins a muddy Faenza MX1 season opener.
Josh Grant wins Anaheim I 2009 (Pic: Yamaha).
Team USA wins the 2008 Motocross of Nations at Donington Park.
Tyla Rattray wins the 2008 MX2 World Championship.
Chad Reed wins the 2008 AMA Supercross championship.
Robbie Maddison leapt into history with a new distance record on New Year`s Day in Las Vegas   [pic credit: Justin/Red Bull]
Robbie Maddison leapt into history with a new distance record on New Year`s Day in Las Vegas   [pic credit: Chris Tedesco/Red Bull]
Robbie Maddison leaps into history with a new distance record on New Year`s Day in Las Vegas   [pic credit: Christian Pondella/Red Bull]
Robbie Maddison prepares for his record breaking Vegas jump (pic: Rich Van Every_Red Bull).
Freestyle star Robbie Maddison during a massive jump (pic: Rich Van Every_Red Bull).
Ricky Carmichael made his final Motocross of Nations appearance in the 2007 event.
USA (1st), France (2nd) and Belgium (3rd) on the 2007 Motocross of Nations podium.
Team USA`s Ricky Carmichael at the 2007 Motocross of Nations.
Grant Langston celebrates winning the 2007 AMA Motocross championship.
Ramon wins 2007 MX1 Motocross world championship.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.