Barragan victorious, Cairoli injured.

Jonathan Barragan took his second consecutive MX1 GP win after battling it out with fellow KTM rider Max Nagl, second overall, while defending champion Steve Ramon completed the podium in front of series leader David Philippaerts.

Ramon took his Teka Suzuki to victory in moto one, ahead of a battling Philippaerts and Barragan, with Nagl fourth after leading the opening laps.

The young German put up a stiffer resistance in race two, but was finally overtaken by Barragan with ten minutes of the moto remaining - allowing the Spaniard to secure his third victory of the season, while Nagl faced a determined attack from Sebastien Pourcel.

Josh Coppins - who collided with Pourcel early in race one, eventually finishing ninth - secured fourth in race two ahead of CAS Honda's Billy Mackenzie and his Monster Yamaha team-mate Philippaerts. de Dycker and Ramon completed the top eight.

In the world championship standings, Philippaerts is now eleven points clear of Ramon with Coppins a further twelve points back and badly in need of some good starts.

There was greater drama in the MX2 title fight when defending double world champion Antonio Cairoli injured his left knee in race one, leaving him pointless in both motos.

With arch-rival Tommy Searle taking a perfect double victory over team-mate, local star and world championship leader Tyla Rattray, the South African now holds a 21 point lead over the young Briton with Cairoli a worrying 59 points from the top.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Cairoli will not ride at the MXoN
Tony Cairoli British GP 2015
The Go Pro image as Cairoli loses the front wheel in the qualifying race
Official 2011 Roof of Africa DVD
Antonio Cairoli celebrate 2009 MX1 title victory
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha
Jonathan Barragan - KTM.
Antonio Cairoli (Yamaha).
Barragan, Cairoli and Leok on the Valkenswaard podium
Cairoli and Philippaerts.
Jonathan Barragan - KTM.
Antonio Cairoli - Yamaha.
Tony Cairoli and David Philippaerts.
Jonathan Barragan and Steve Ramon.
Tyla Rattray and Antonio Cairoli.
Jonathan Barragan - KTM.
Antonio Cairoli – Yamaha.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.