Philippaerts, Rattray crowned at Faenza.

David Philippaerts (MX1) and Tyla Rattray (MX2) have won the 2008 Motocross World Championships at the 15th and final round of the season at Faenza on Sunday.

In the premier 450cc class, Philippaerts arrived in front of his home fans needing to protect a 14 point lead over reigning world champion Steve Ramon.

On a day when KTM's Max Nagl claimed two perfect moto wins, Philippaerts soaked up the pressure to rise from eighth to third in moto one, while Ramon managed only eleventh.

Indeed, with Teka Suzuki team-mate Ken de Dycker claiming second place, Ramon lost second in the championship heading into the final moto of the year - when Philippaerts needed only three points to secure his first world crown.

The Italian made a made a fast start, but was ultimately content to slip back to a safe ninth, whilst Nagl led from start to finish and Ramon retook second in the championship by finishing 5.7secs behind the untouchable German.

de Dycker suffered a poor start and could only reach fifth by the chequered flag, enough to secure second overall behind Nagl in the grand prix, but costing him second in the final standings by just five points to Ramon.

Philippaerts finished the season 14 points clear of Ramon and, although he never claimed a single pole position, the consistent 24-year-old lifted the crown courtesy of two grand prix wins and seven podiums.

"It was a very long season, both Steve and Ken have been very fast and I am very happy about this title, there is not much else to say," he smiled. "I have been taking this championship race by race, I think the moment I realised I could actually be World Champion was the second moto today!

"Consistency has been one of the reasons of my success, I finished most of the motos and scored good points. I would like to thank my girlfriend Alice, my sponsors, Michele [Rinaldi] who helped me very much this year and all the people around me."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
David Philippaerts celebrates 2008 MX1 glory.
David Philippaerts – Monster Yamaha
David Philippaerts - Yamaha.
David Philippaerts - Yamaha.
Cairoli and Philippaerts.
Tanel Leok wins a muddy Faenza MX1 season opener.
Tony Cairoli and David Philippaerts.
Tyla Rattray wins the 2008 MX2 World Championship.
Tyla Rattray and Antonio Cairoli.
David Philippaerts – Yamaha.
Tyla Rattray – KTM.
David Philippaerts - Monster Yamaha.
David Philippaerts - Yamaha.
David Philippaerts - Yamaha.
Davide Philippaerts – Yamaha.
David Philippaerts soldiered on to finish second in Spain.
Tyla Rattray - KTM.
Tyla Rattray - KTM.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.