MotoGP »

Top 10 MotoGP race winners never to win the title

Drenched in race wins but nary a top-line championship to their name
As much as racing is about talent and tenacity, there's also a giant side-order of luck involved in the career of every rider; the roll of the dice can mark one out for greatness while another disappears and deny some hard-working, race-winning riders from ever having the championship trophy on their mantelpiece.

The same luck can work the other way, too. Riders with fewer career race wins than anyone on our top 10 list have walked away with the championship, whether due to ill fortune of others or the ability to sustain a string of solid podium finishes while more flamboyant race winners throw points away.

Of course there are endless question marks over the unfulfilled potential of riders with careers cut short by injury or worse. Would Marco Simoncelli have been a champion? Could Daijiro Kato have been Japan's first top-class title winner? These are impossible questions, so we've stuck to a list that's supported by fact; race wins. We've looked purely at wins in the top class – 500cc or MotoGP – and at riders who never took a title at that level.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Loris Capirossi - race wins 65
Nicky Hayden - A tribute
Private testing action from Barcelona
Morning (left) and afternoon (right) lap times from Weds at Barcelona test
Marquez fall at private Barcelona test
Barcelona Circuit of Catalunya chicane final sector
New Catalunya chicane during private test
New chicane in use at Catalunya MotoGP test
Pedrosa, Zarco, Vinales, French MotoGP 2017
Vinales, French MotoGP 2017
Crowd, French MotoGP 2017
Baz, French MotoGP 2017
Rossi, Vinales, French MotoGP 2017
Iannone, French MotoGP 2017
Folger, French MotoGP 2017
Crowd, French MotoGP 2017
Dovizioso, Crutchlow, French MotoGP 2017
Vinales, Zarco, Rossi, French MotoGP 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


March 09, 2017 4:54 PM

What a list ! That list is even more poignant when you consider this : in 2006 Nicky Hayden became World Champion with the ONLY 2 WINS of his MotoGP career, yet in in the list above Dani won twice, and Marco Melandri and Loris Capirossi both won 3 GPs in that season (Valentino, 5 times). But Nicky's name is the one that will say "Champion" next to it for the rest of history ..........

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.