MotoGP »

MotoGP 800cc from 2007.

The Grand Prix Commission - composed of Carmelo Ezpeleta (Dorna), Claude Danis (FIM), Sito Pons (IRTA) and Takanao Tsubouchi (MSMA) - has today confirmed that MotoGP engine capacity will be reduced from 990cc to 800cc for the 2007 season onwards.

The much rumoured move has been prompted by the need to reduce speeds - indeed; so far at this weekend's Italian Grand Prix all but 4 of the 21 MotoGP machines have broken the 200mph barrier, with Carlos Checa's Ducati hitting almost 210mph along the Mugello main straight.

The new capacity limit replaces a less radical rule announced last June, which declared that MotoGP engines would be reduced to 900cc for 2007.

Unlike the 900cc rule, the 800cc capacity is likely to force a substantial redesign of GP machines, with new cylinder configurations likely (HRC are already thought to have a three-cylinder under development).

It is also expected to result in machines with more 'peaky' power-curve characteristics as the emphasis moves from 'rider-friendly' to 'maximum revs' as engineers seek to replace the power lost.

The 800cc limit will run for a minimum of five-years, assuring manufacturers of stability in return for the new engineering investment needed. Fuel capacity for the 800cc machines will be limited to 21 litres.

Meanwhile, two-stroke MotoGP engines - of which there are currently none - will be officially consigned to history with the additional news that from 2007 they will not be allowed in the premier-class.

This decision was necessary to ensure the four-stroke future of the class, since a 500cc two-stroke (as presently allowed) could potentially be competitive against an 800cc four-stroke, possibly promoting something of a two-stroke revival - which neither the major manufacturers or sport in general wants.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
MotoGP Bikes, Spanish MotoGP, 2005
Rossi, Italian MotoGP 2005
Rossi`s M1 exhaust, Spanish MotoGP 2005
Herrera, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Oettl, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Guevara, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Barton, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Kornfeil, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Norrodin, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Pawi, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Ono, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Rodrigo, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Spaan, Loi, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Loi, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Herrera, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Herrera, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Navarro, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016
Binder, Moto3. Australian MotoGP 2016

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.