MotoGP »

700th premier-class grand prix.

The MotoGP riders will have a little extra motivation for Sunday's Japanese Grand Prix at Motegi, since it will mark the 700th premier-class race since the world championships began in 1949.

From 1949-2001 the premier-class consisted of 500cc machines, with the capacity increased to 990cc for four-strokes in 2002.

That change only lasted five years, with the capacity then cut to 800cc at the start of 2007.

The landmark race winners since 1949 are listed below:

Race 1: June 1949 - Great Britain, IOM TT
The first 500cc GP is won by Harold Daniell riding a factory Norton.

Race 100: August 1962 - East Germany, Sachsenring
Mike Hailwood (MV Agusta) wins the 100th race in the premier-class.

Race 200: June 1972 - Dutch TT, Assen
Giacomo Agostini wins the 200th race riding an MV Agusta.

Race 300: August 1981 - Sweden, Anderstorp
Barry Sheene wins the 300th GP riding a Yamaha, this race remains the most recent premier-class win by a British rider.

Race 400: July 1989 - France, Le Mans
Eddie Lawson riding a Honda wins the 400th GP in the premier-class.

Race 500: September 1996 - Italy, Imola
Mick Doohan (Honda) takes victory in a race cut short due to a rain shower.

Race 600: May 2003 - France, Le Mans
Sete Gibernau wins after a great battle with fellow Honda rider Valentino Rossi in a shortened race after the race had been stopped due to rain.

Race 700: April 2009 - Motegi, Japan

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Capirossi, Qatar MotoGP 2009
Nicky Hayden - A tribute
Private testing action from Barcelona
Morning (left) and afternoon (right) lap times from Weds at Barcelona test
Marquez fall at private Barcelona test
Barcelona Circuit of Catalunya chicane final sector
New Catalunya chicane during private test
New chicane in use at Catalunya MotoGP test
Pedrosa, Zarco, Vinales, French MotoGP 2017
Vinales, French MotoGP 2017
Crowd, French MotoGP 2017
Baz, French MotoGP 2017
Rossi, Vinales, French MotoGP 2017
Iannone, French MotoGP 2017
Folger, French MotoGP 2017
Crowd, French MotoGP 2017
Dovizioso, Crutchlow, French MotoGP 2017
Vinales, Zarco, Rossi, French MotoGP 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Racefan - Unregistered

April 23, 2009 10:29 AM

Wise up "Crash", it is most certainly not the 700th "Moto GP"! "Moto GP" was a crappy marketing name attached to the premier class of motorcycle grand prix racing by Dorna as part of their (extremely flawed) strategy to turn our beloved sport into a world wide media success similar to F1. It's bad enough that we have to put up with it now but even worse that you try to apply it retrospectively to sixty odd years of our motorcycle racing heritage most of it as far removed from todays farce as you could ever imagine.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.