Dani Pedrosa's astonishing 349.3km/h (217.1mph) top speed during the Italian Grand Prix weekend has now been officially confirmed, making it a new MotoGP record.

Pedrosa's 800cc RC212V set the speed during Friday's free practice session, but was subject to official confirmation by timing specialists at Dorna after differences were found in the results produced by the telemetric systems on some bikes.

However, the official MotoGP website states that Pedrosa's top speed has now been confirmed.

The previous official top speed record for a motorcycle grand prix machine was 343.7km/h (213.6mph) set by Makoto Tamada, on a 990cc Honda, during qualifying at Shanghai in 2006.

The Chinese circuit is no longer on the world championship calendar, but the previous highest official top speed at Mugello was 343km/h (213.1mph) set by Alex Barros on a 990cc factory Honda during the 2004 race.

Pedrosa crashed out of Sunday's wet/dry grand prix, which was won by Ducati's Casey Stoner.

The official event maximum speeds during the Mugello weekend are as follows:

1. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team 349.300 km/h (FP1)
2. Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Racing 348.100 km/h (FP1)
3. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team 344.300 km/h (FP1)
4. Niccolo Canepa ITA Pramac Racing 343.400 km/h (FP1)
5. Jorge Lorenzo SPA Fiat Yamaha Team 342.400 km/h (FP1)
6. Marco Melandri ITA Hayate Racing Team 342.200 km/h (FP1)
7. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team 341.600 km/h (FP1)
8. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team 341.100 km/h (FP1)
9. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team 340.8 km/h (FP2)
10. Alex de Angelis RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini 340.500 km/h (FP1)
11. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 339.800 km/h (FP1)
12. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 339.000 km/h (FP1)
13. Toni Elias SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini 338.300 km/h (Race)
14. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP 337.600 km/h (FP1)
15. Yuki Takahashi JPN Scot Racing Team MotoGP 337.100 km/h (FP1)
16. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 335.900 km/h (FP2)
17. James Toseland GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 334.100 km/h (Race)