The fastest Moto2 machine circulated just a few tenths from 2009 250GP pole position pace, during qualifying for the Jerez round of the CEV Formula Extreme Championship.

Alex Debon put his Aprilia on pole for the 250cc Spanish Grand Prix with a time of 1min 43.028sec at Jerez on May 2 - and Aleix Espargar? recorded a 1min 43.257sec on his Yamaha-powered Moto2 machine in Saturday's final qualifying session, which featured four Moto2s amongst the Extreme (1000cc Superbike) field.

Only the top four Extreme class riders were able to beat Espargaro's time: Ivan Silva (Kawasaki), Kenny Noyes (Kawasaki), Carmelo Morales (Yamaha) and Jose de Gea (Suzuki).

Espargaro's Yamaha Spain machine uses a Harris frame and a race kitted YZF R6 engine, having been built before the decision to make all teams use the same (Honda) engine in next year's inaugural Moto2 World Championship.

Moto2 will replace 250GP completely from 2011. The two-strokes will technically be allowed to race alongside the 600cc four-strokes next season, although the oversubscribed Moto2 entry applications suggest this will be unlikely.

Espargaro's lap time would have been good enough for second on the 250GP grid, while the next best Moto2 machine at Jerez was the Honda of Dani Rivas in tenth place. Rivas set a best lap of 1min 43.961sec and would also have qualified tenth in the grand prix qualifying session.

The other Moto2s of Angel Rodriguez and Dani Arcas qualified 13th and 23rd in the 33 bike field.

Unlike at Albacete, Moto2s will be allowed to race in the Jerez Extreme event, but not eligible for points.
Jerez Formula Extreme - Final Qualifying
1. Ivan Silva (Kawasaki ZX-10 R) 1'42,289
2. Kenny Noyes (Kawasaki ZX-10 R) 1?42,777
3. Carmelo Morales (Yamaha R1) 1?42.836
4. Jos? de Gea (Suzuki GSX-R 1000) 1?42.852
5. Aleix Espargar? (Moto2 Yamaha) 1?43.257
6. Manuel Tirado (Yamaha R1) 1?43.393
7. Bernat Martinez (Yamaha R1) 1?43.415
8. Victor Carrasco (Suzuki GSX-R 1000) 1?43.818
9. Enrique Rocamora (Suzuki GSX-R 1000) 1?43.857
10. Dani Rivas (Moto2 Honda) 1?43.961

13 Angel Rodriguez (Moto2 Yamaha) 1?44.221
23 Dani Arcas (Moto2 Honda) 1?48.365


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment